Galway need extra time to beat Dublin in U21 hurling semi-final

Galway 0-21 Dublin 0-19 (AET)

Galway secured a first All-Ireland U21 final appearance since 2011 when overcoming Dublin after extra-time in the second of today’s semi-final double-header at Semple Stadium, writes Eoghan Cormican.

The westerners, playing their first competitive fixture of the summer, produced a solid first-half showing against the breeze to trail by just 0-10 to 0-7 at the break.

They could have been level but for a superb save by Dublin ‘keeper Johnathan Treacy to deny Conor Whelan on 28 minutes.

Chris Bennett stretched Dublin’s lead out to four upon the restart, but the Leinster champions wouldn’t add to their tally during the ensuing 14 minutes.

Galway, during this period, hit six on the bounce to take the lead for the first time.

Cian Boland, James Madden and Fionn Ó Riain Broin rallied to return the Dubs in front and while Galway twice more took the lead, a Cian McGabhann point twenty seconds over the allotted three minutes of stoppages forced extra-time.

Galway captain Brian Molloy landed four of the five Galway points scored during extra-time, including two monstrous frees into the teeth of a stiff breeze in the second period of extra-time.

The sides were level on eight occasions, with Dublin hitting 21 wides in total.

Scorers for Dublin: C Bennett (0-3 frees), R McBride, C Boland (0-3 each); S Treacy (0-2 frees), A Jameson (0-2 each); J Madden, Ó Riain Broin, Mac Gabhann, Barrett, Conroy, McHugh (0-1 each).

Scorers for Galway: B Molloy (0-10, 0-5 frees, 0-1 ’65); D Nevin (0-1 sc), T Monaghan (0-3 each); C Whelan, E Burke (0-2 each); D Dolan (0-1)

Galway: C Tuohy (Tommie Larkins); C Jennings (Loughrea), D O’Donoghue (Kilnadeema Leitrim), D Cronin (Cappataggle); F Burke (St Thomas’), S Cooney (St Thomas’), S Loftus (Turloughmore); D Dolan (Cappataggle), D Nevin (Cappataggle); K McHugo (Tommie Larkins), B Molloy (Kilnadeema Leitrim), É Burke (St Thomas’); T Monaghan (Craughwell), C Whelan (Kinvara), C Burke (Athenry).

Subs: B Concannon (Killimordaly) for McHugo (39 mins); J Mannion (Cappataggle) for C Burke (45); E Brannigan (Rahoon/Newcastle) for Dolan (52); S Linnane (Turloughmore) for Whelan (64, inj); J Grealish (Gort) for Mannion (70); A Morrissey (Liam Mellows) for Monaghan (75).

Dublin: J Treacy (Na Fianna); J Madden (Ballyboden St Enda’s), E O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille), J Bellew (Lucan Sarsfields); F Ó Riain Broin (St Jude’s), S Barrett (Na Fianna), C Mac Gabhann (Kilmacud Crokes); R McBride (St Vincent’s), J Malone (Cuala); C Boland (St Oliver’s Plunkett’s), A Jameson-Murphy (Na Fianna), E Conroy (St Maur’s); S Ó Riain (Setanta), S Treacy (Cuala), C Bennett (Faughs).

Subs: P O’Dea (Na Fianna) for Ó Riain (43 mins); C Ó Néill (Ballyboden St Enda’s) for Bennett (45); E McHugh (Na Fianna) for Conroy (55); B Bolger (St Vincent’s) for Ó Riain Broin (61); Ó Riain for Murphy (68); M McCallion (Kilmacud Crokes) for Bolger (70); C Bennett for McBride (72).

Referee: D Kirwan (Cork).

More in this Section

Northern Ireland boss Michael O’Neill sets his sights on Euro 2020 qualifiers

Marmion warns All Blacks not to target Ireland team-mate Aki

Martin O’Neill wants Republic new boy Obafemi to be given time

Rory McIlroy shrugs off criticism as he lies one shot off Dubai lead

Breaking Stories

Wishlist: Colour Christmas gifts for the home

Live by the book or create your own wonderful outlook

Interiors are brought back to book

Significant winter auctions of Irish art are under way

More From The Irish Examiner