Case cracked as Rowling revealed as ‘debut’ author

An ex-military man tries his hand at writing, publishes a debut detective novel, and wins critical acclaim. But here’s the twist in the tale: The true identity of the author is none other than Harry Potter creator JK Rowling.

Case cracked as Rowling revealed as ‘debut’ author

It’s impressive literary wizardry by Rowling, who said she relished the freedom of writing The Cuckoo’s Calling under her pseudonym Robert Galbraith.

“I hoped to keep this secret a little longer because being Robert Galbraith has been such a liberating experience,” she said in a statement released by her publicist. “It has been wonderful to publish without hype or expectation, and pure pleasure to get feedback from publishers and readers under a different name.”

“The Cuckoo’s Calling,” a story about a war veteran turned private investigator who is called in to probe the mysterious death of a model, was published to rave reviews in April by Sphere, part of publisher Little, Brown & Company.

The Sunday Times said it was investigating “how a first-time author with a background in the army and the civilian security industry could write such an assured debut novel” when it connected the dots. The paper said clues included the fact that Rowling and Galbraith shared the same agent and editor, and that Little, Brown published Rowling’s novel for adults, The Casual Vacancy. It also said the book’s style and subject matter resembled Rowling’s work.

Rowling’s publicist confirmed the paper’s detective work was correct.

In her statement, Rowling thanked her editor David Shelley and the publishing staff who worked on the book without knowing her identity. She added that “Galbraith” planned to keep writing the series.

On its website, Little, Brown marketed The Cuckoo’s Calling as a classic crime novel in the tradition of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell. It said the novel, whose central character is named Cormoran Strike, was the first of a series of crime novels to come.

More in this section

IE_logo_newsletters

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox