'He hasn't gone out to hurt me' - Josh Honohan defends Harry Nevin over tackle

The former City star defended his fellow Cork native although he did admit it had a significant impact on the FAI Cup Final.
'He hasn't gone out to hurt me' - Josh Honohan defends Harry Nevin over tackle

MISTIMED: Josh Honohan is fouled by Harry Nevin, who was then sent off. Pic: Thomas Flinkow/Sportsfile.

Josh Honohan was the one on the receiving end of Harry Nevin’s high tackle which resulted in the red card that changed the course of FAI Cup Final, but the Shamrock Rovers defender believes the Cork City man’s challenge was just “mistimed” rather than “malicious.”

Relegated City had been frustrating the champions until Nevin’s red mist shortly before the interval helped swing the showpiece occasion, which was ultimately settled by two second half goals from Rory Gaffney, in Rovers’ favour.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Subscribe to access all of the Irish Examiner.

Annual €130 €80

Best value

Monthly €12€6 / month

A collection of the latest sports news, reports and analysis from Cork.

More in this section

Sport

Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers. and reporters

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited