Limerick power four past Wexford

Limerick FC maintained their First Division promotion drive with a four-goal rout of Wexford Youths at Jackman Park last night.

Strikes from Sean Brosnan, Shane Tracy, David O’Leary and Rory Gaffney did the business for the Shannonsiders. Brosnan drilled home in the 43rd minute and a minute later Tracy netted a penalty after Joe Gamble’s shot was handled inside the area.

O’Leary made it 3-0 in the 68th minute with a neat finish. Gaffney then slotted under Youths keeper Graham Doyle following Denis Behan’s flick. Gamble and Wexford’s Mark Phelan were sent off for fouls on Brian Nolan and Steve McGann in the last 20 minutes.

LIMERICK FC: Ryan, Kelly, Guthrie, Purcell, Gamble, O’Leary, Tracy, McGrath, Behan (Sheehan 80) Gaffney (Foley 71) Brosnan (McGann 74)

WEXFORD YOUTHS: Doyle, Phelan, Dermody (Corcoran 52), Carr, Browne, Nolan, Molloy (Dempsey 80), Malone, Kennan, Nolan (Furlong 52) Broaders.

Referee: J McKell (Tipperary).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox