Whitty heroics seal memorable DLS win

GOALKEEPER Sean Whitty’s sudden-death heroics earned De La Salle, Waterford their first FAI Schools Tony O’Neill Senior Cup title at Tolka Park yesterday.

Whitty converted his side’s seventh spot-kick, then saved the eighth St Patrick’s attempt by Dara McVeety before Conor Whittle slotted home the decisive penalty.

The stopper had kept De La Salle’s silverware hopes alive earlier in the second period of extra-time by producing a superb save to deny a header from Saints’ substitute Jonathan Leddy.

In the first-half DLS’s Conor Coad was foiled by goalkeeper Joe Masterson before Chris Kervick and Kevin Flynn both missed gilt-edged chances. That profligacy would nearly cost them in the second-half as Craig Murphy was inches wide with an acrobatic overhead kick on 53 minutes. Still, De la Salle persevered and despite Flynn missing another chance in the last minute, Whitty ensured they became the first Waterford team to claim the title.

ST PATRICK’S COLLEGE: J Masterson; A Graham, P Graham, C Higgins (B Kiernan, 70), R O’Reilly, D Talbot, K Devine (V Coyle, 76), C Bogue, D McVeety, C Murphy, K Johnston (J Leddy, ht).

DE LA SALLE COLLEGE: S Whitty; M McManus, G O’Donovan, A Potter (capt), P Fitzgerald, C Morris (D O’Leary, 76), C Whittle, C Kervick (E Kindlan, 86), A Galibert, C Coad, K Flynn (J Hale, 103).

Referee: Richard Glynn (Dublin).

More in this section

Price info

Subscribe to unlock unlimited digital access.
Cancel anytime.

Terms and conditions apply


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox