Jacob Stockdale recalled to Ireland squad

Jacob Stockdale recalled to Ireland squad

Jacob Stockdale

Ulster’s Jacob Stockdale has been named in the Ireland squad for the final two rounds of the Guinness Six Nations.

Stockdale missed the opening three games due to injury but following his return to action with his province in the PRO14, has been recalled by Andy Farrell. He replaces Munster's Shane Daly.

The 36 man squad will travel to Edinburgh on Friday ahead of playing Scotland on Sunday at BT Murrayfield.

Josh van der Flier will go through the graduated return to play protocols this week in Ireland camp while there were no significant injury concerns from the other 12 players who featured in the Guinness PRO14 fixtures over the weekend.

Meanwhile Scotland have included Nick Haining, Sam Skinner and Rufus McLean in a 34-man squad for Sunday's game.

Edinburgh back-row forward Haining and Exeter second-row Skinner have both been recalled, while Glasgow's American-born full-back or wing McLean has won his first senior call-up.

The trio were not included in head coach Gregor Townsend's squad for Scotland's scheduled Six Nations clash with France last month, which was postponed due to a coronavirus outbreak in Les Bleus' squad.

There is no place for Glasgow forward Zander Fagerson, who recently lost his appeal against a four-week suspension.

Fagerson was sent off against Wales last month for charging into the head of Wyn Jones while clearing out a ruck, but he could still play a part in the tournament after the game in Paris was postponed.

Glasgow team-mate Adam Hastings is also suspended after he was handed a three-game ban for his red card in last month's Guinness PRO14 defeat at Leinster.

Scotland are fifth in the Six Nations table after they followed up their opening win against England at Twickenham with a 25-24 defeat to Wales at Murrayfield in their second match.

Ireland Squad Rounds 4 & 5 – 2021 Guinness Six Nations Championships.

Backs: Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians), Billy Burns (Ulster), Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD), Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon), Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen), Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster), Chris Farrell (Munster/Young Munster), Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers), Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD), Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College), James Lowe (Leinster), Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor), Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen), Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College), Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan).

Forwards: Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University), Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne), Ed Byrne (Leinster/UCD), Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere), Will Connors (Leinster/UCD), Ultan Dillane (Connacht/Corinthians), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf), Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf), Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers), Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy), Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch), Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne), Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians), Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch), Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD), James Ryan (Leinster/UCD), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster/St Mary’s College), CJ Stander (Munster/Shannon), Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox