Ireland name 38 Player Squad for first two rounds of 6 Nations

The Ireland coaching staff has named a 38 player squad for the first two rounds of the RBS 6 Nations Championship.

Ireland name 38 Player Squad for first two rounds of 6 Nations

The Ireland coaching staff has named a 38 player squad for the first two rounds of the RBS 6 Nations Championship.

The squad had been reduced through injury as well as a number of Wolfhounds returning to their provinces.

"Jack Conan and Michael Bent did well against the Saxons but will return to Leinster, as will Noel Reid who was restricted to a brief cameo as he was covering a number of positions. Rob Herring returns to Ulster and will look forward to having an opportunity for further game time. Fergus McFadden has a rib cartilage injury, while Craig Gilroy will follow the return to play protocols after a concussion in the Wolfhounds game," commented Ireland Head Coach Joe Schmidt.

Dave Kearney and Luke Fitzgerald are expected to be fully fit to train in preparation for Italy, while Eoin Reddan and Jamie Heaslip are progressing well and are likely to be available to train fully on Tuesday.

Mike McCarthy suffered a concussion during the Wolfhounds game and will stay with the squad while completing the return to play protocols. Cian Healy continues to make very promising progress post his hamstring injury.

Conor Murray trained well on Friday and is expected to be fit for the Italy clash this Saturday.

Forwards (20)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

James Cronin (Dolphin/Munster)

Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Mike McCarthy (Leinster)

Jack McGrath (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Sean O'Brien (UCD/Leinster)

Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)

Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Nathan White (Galwegians/Connacht)*

Backs (18)

Isaac Boss (Terenure/Leinster)

Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)

David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)

Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Jared Payne (Ulster)

Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92)

Simon Zebo (Cork Con/Munster)

* Indicates uncapped player

More in this section

CourtsRugbyHeathrowPlace: UlsterPerson: Jack ConanPerson: Michael BentPerson: SaxonsPerson: Noel ReidPerson: Rob HerringPerson: Fergus McFaddenPerson: Craig GilroyPerson: Head CoachPerson: Joe SchmidtPerson: Dave KearneyPerson: Luke FitzgeraldPerson: Eoin ReddanPerson: Jamie HeaslipPerson: Mike McCarthyPerson: Cian HealyPerson: Conor MurrayPerson: Rory BestPerson: James CroninPerson: Sean CroninPerson: Robbie DiackPerson: Iain HendersonPerson: Jack McGrathPerson: Martin MoorePerson: Jordi MurphyPerson: Seán O'BrienPerson: Paul O'ConnellPerson: Tommy O'DonnellPerson: Peter O'MahonyPerson: Mike RossPerson: Dominic RyanPerson: Richardt StraussPerson: Devin TonerPerson: Nathan WhitePerson: Isaac BossPerson: Tommy BowePerson: Darren CavePerson: Gordon D'ArcyPerson: Keith EarlsPerson: Robbie HenshawPerson: Felix JonesPerson: David KearneyPerson: Rob KearneyPerson: Ian KeatleyPerson: Ian MadiganPerson: Kieran MarmionPerson: Jared PaynePerson: Jonathan SextonPerson: Simon ZeboEvent: RBS 6 Nations ChampionshipOrganisation: IrelandOrganisation: WolfhoundsOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: ItalyOrganisation: BanbridgeOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: DolphinOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: St. Mary's CollegeOrganisation: MaloneOrganisation: ClontarfOrganisation: Dublin UniversityOrganisation: BallynahinchOrganisation: LansdowneOrganisation: UCDOrganisation: Young MunsterOrganisation: UL BohemiansOrganisation: Cork ConstitutionOrganisation: Old WesleyOrganisation: ConnachtOrganisation: BacksOrganisation: TerenureOrganisation: Belfast HarlequinsOrganisation: Blackrock CollegeOrganisation: BuccaneersOrganisation: ShannonOrganisation: CorinthiansOrganisation: GarryowenOrganisation: Racing Metro 92Organisation: Cork Con

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox