Ireland U-20s get first Worlds win

Ireland U-20s 30 Scotland U-20s 13,

Ireland U-20s 30 Scotland U-20s 13,

The Ireland Under-20s ran in three late tries to defeat Scotland and record their first win of this year’s IRB Junior World Championship.

Andrew Conway, with his fourth try of the tournament, crossed in the 70th minute and Ulster duo Luke Marshall and Niall Annett followed up with two more.

A brace of penalties from out-half Paddy Jackson had given Ireland a 6-3 half-time lead, and Jackson and Scotland captain Duncan Weir slotted one apiece in the second half before the tries came.

The victory means Mike Ruddock’s youngsters finish third in Pool C and qualify for the 5th-8th place play-offs.

It sets up a rematch with South Africa in Padova next Wednesday - the Baby ‘Boks were 42-26 winners when the sides met in the pool stages.

Boosted by two high octane displays against England and South Africa, Annett and his team-mates came into this game determined to break their duck.

The first half was tight throughout, Jackson and Weir trading blows inside the opening 13 minutes before the former kicked Ireland ahead ten minutes later.

The out-halves each missed their final scoring chances before the break and it was not until the closing 20 minutes that Ireland’s threatening backs clicked into gear.

Centre Brendan Macken tore through the Scottish defence to set up his Blackrock club-mate Conway for a well-crafted try, converted by Jackson.

The shackles were off as lock Iain Henderson linked with Marshall on another terrific attack, this time down the left channel. Replacement James McKinney added the extras.

Hooker and captain Annett notched the third following some good approach work from replacements David Doyle and Daniel Qualter. McKinney’s kick made it 30-6.

Scotland gained some consolation in the form of a last-minute try from centre Danny Gilmour, but nothing could take the gloss off Ireland’s sixth win in seven meetings with the Scots at this age grade.

Scorers: Ireland: Tries: Andrew Conway, Luke Marshall, Niall Annett; Cons: Paddy Jackson, James McKinney 2; Pens: Paddy Jackson 3

Scotland: Try: Danny Gilmour; Con: Stuart Edwards; Pens: Duncan Weir 2

IRELAND U-20: Tiernan O'Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht); Andrew Conway (Blackrock/Leinster), Brendan Macken (Blackrock/Leinster), Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster), Andrew Boyle (UCD/Leinster); Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster), Kieran Marmion (UWIC/Exile); James Tracy (UCD/Leinster), Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) (capt), Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster), Michael Kearney (Clontarf/Leinster), Iain Henderson (Queen's University/Ulster), Eoin McKeon (Galwegians/Connacht), Dominic Gallagher (Dublin University/Ulster), Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster).

Replacements used: Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster) for O’Halloran (66 mins), Daniel Qualter (Buccaneers/Connacht) for Kearney, David Doyle (UCD/Leinster) for Gallagher (both 67), Peter du Toit (UCD/Leinster) for Marmion, James McKinney (Queen’s University/Ulster) for Jackson (both 72), Conor Carey (Ballymena/Ulster) for Furlong (76). Not used: Shane Buckley (Garryowen/Munster)

SCOTLAND U-20: Glenn Bryce (Stirling County); Sam Atkin (Edinburgh Accies), Mark Bennett (Clermont Auvergne), Danny Gilmour (Stirling County), Kerr Gossman (Glasgow Hawks); Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors) (capt), Sean Kennedy (Stirling County); Alex Allan (Loughborough University), David Cherry (Team Northumbria), Colin Phillips (Edinburgh Rugby/Stewart's Melville), Mitchell Todd (Nottingham), Robert McAlpine (West of Scotland/Glasgow Warriors), Mitch Eadie (Boroughmuir), Hamish Watson (Leicester Tigers), James Tyas (Bath).

Replacements used: Richard Ferguson (Melrose) for Cherry, George Hunter (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks) for Phillips, Jamie Swanson (Boroughmuir) for McAlpine (all half-time), Robin Hislop (Edinburgh Rugby/Boroughmuir) for Allan (60 mins), Jamie Stevenson (Westcombe Park) for Gossman (62), Alex Spence (Heriot’s) for Tyas (72), Stuart Edwards (Stirling County) for Weir (76).

Referee: Greg Garner (England)

More in this section

CourtsRugbyHeathrowPlace: ScotlandPlace: Westcombe ParkPlace: Stirling CountyPerson: Andrew ConwayPerson: Luke MarshallPerson: Niall AnnettPerson: Paddy JacksonPerson: JacksonPerson: Duncan WeirPerson: Mike RuddockPerson: AnnettPerson: WeirPerson: Brendan MackenPerson: ConwayPerson: Iain HendersonPerson: MarshallPerson: James McKinneyPerson: David DoylePerson: Daniel QualterPerson: McKinneyPerson: Danny GilmourPerson: Stuart EdwardsPerson: Tiernan O'HalloranPerson: Andrew BoylePerson: Kieran MarmionPerson: James TracyPerson: Tadhg FurlongPerson: Michael KearneyPerson: Eoin McKeonPerson: Dominic GallagherPerson: Jordi MurphyPerson: Craig GilroyPerson: O’HalloranPerson: KearneyPerson: GallagherPerson: Peter du ToitPerson: MarmionPerson: Conor CareyPerson: FurlongPerson: Shane BuckleyPerson: Glenn BrycePerson: Sam AtkinPerson: Mark BennettPerson: Kerr GossmanPerson: Sean KennedyPerson: Alex AllanPerson: David CherryPerson: Colin PhillipsPerson: Mitchell ToddPerson: Robert McAlpinePerson: Mitch EadiePerson: Hamish WatsonPerson: James TyasPerson: Richard FergusonPerson: CherryPerson: George HunterPerson: PhillipsPerson: Jamie SwansonPerson: MCALPINEPerson: Robin HislopPerson: AllanPerson: Jamie StevensonPerson: GossmanPerson: Alex SpencePerson: TyasPerson: Greg GarnerEvent: IRB Junior World ChampionshipOrganisation: IrelandOrganisation: ScotlandOrganisation: Ireland Under-20sOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: South AfricaOrganisation: Baby ‘BoksOrganisation: EnglandOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: ScotsOrganisation: ConnachtOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: BallymenaOrganisation: UCDOrganisation: DungannonOrganisation: UWICOrganisation: ExileOrganisation: Belfast HarlequinsOrganisation: ClontarfOrganisation: Queen's UniversityOrganisation: Dublin UniversityOrganisation: BuccaneersOrganisation: Queen’s UniversityOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: Edinburgh AcciesOrganisation: Clermont AuvergneOrganisation: Stirling CountyOrganisation: Glasgow HawksOrganisation: Glasgow WarriorsOrganisation: Loughborough UniversityOrganisation: Team NorthumbriaOrganisation: Edinburgh RugbyOrganisation: Stewart's MelvilleOrganisation: NottinghamOrganisation: West of ScotlandOrganisation: BoroughmuirOrganisation: Leicester TigersOrganisation: BathOrganisation: MelroseOrganisation: Heriot

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox