Cipriani among six caps in Saxons line-up

Danny Cipriani is one of six capped players named in the England Saxons side to face Ireland A at Donnybrook.

Danny Cipriani is one of six capped players named in the England Saxons side to face Ireland A at Donnybrook.

The Wasps fly-half was sent down to the Saxons by Martin Johnson earlier this week in the hope of rediscovering some of his form, away from the pressures of the RBS 6 Nations.

Cipriani is charged with unleashing an exciting back division which will feature senior internationals Topsy Ojo on the wing and Nick Abendanon at full-back on Friday night.

The powerful Bath winger Matt Banahan completes the back three, while Harlequins’ England U20s star Jordan Turner-Hall will make his first Saxons appearance alongside Dominic Waldouck in midfield.

“I’m looking forward to seeing Jordan play,” said coach Stuart Lancaster.

“He was outstanding for England U20s last season and has been in great form for Harlequins. This is his first opportunity for Saxons.”

Paul Hodgson is on stand-by to start at scrum-half if Harry Ellis is required by the senior squad to replace the injured Danny Care.

Up front, the Saxons feature an all-Harlequins back row in the shape of Will Skinner, Tom Guest and Chris Robshaw.

Lancaster added: “They’ve all been in great form for Quins and thoroughly deserve this opportunity. I hope they can replicate their club form on the international stage.

“We’re also lucky to have Phil Dowson and Stuart Hooper in the squad to give us experience and leadership.”

Wasps’ George Skivington will captain the side from the second row.

Harlequins winger David Strettle is set to be used off the bench, having returned to action from a broken metatarsal only last week.

England Saxons team to play Ireland A on Friday February 6 at Donnybrook, kick-off 7.35pm:

N Abendanon (Bath); T Ojo (London Irish), D Waldouck (Wasps), J Turner-Hall (Harlequins), M Banahan (Bath); D Cipriani (Wasps), H Ellis (Leicester)/P Hodgson (London Irish); M Mullan (Worcester), D Paice (London Irish), D Wilson (Newcastle), J Crane (Leicester), G Skivington (Wasps, captain), C Robshaw (Harlequins), W Skinner (Harlequins), T Guest (Harlequins).

Replacements: R Webber (Wasps), D Cole (Leicester), S Hooper (Bath), P Dowson (Newcastle), P Hodgson (London Irish)/J Simpson (Wasps), S Myler (Northampton), D Strettle (Harlequins).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox