Pucciarello in Baa-Baas squad

Munster's Frederico Pucciarello, Leinster's Ollie Le Roux and Ulster's Justin Harrison have been named in a 30-man Barbarians squad for games against Belgium, Ireland and England.

Munster's Frederico Pucciarello, Leinster's Ollie Le Roux and Ulster's Justin Harrison have been named in a 30-man Barbarians squad for games against Belgium, Ireland and England.

England internationals Iain Balshaw and Lesley Vainikolo have been named in the squad after they were overlooked for England’s two-Test New Zealand tour next month.

And despite Gloucester crashing out of Guinness Premiership title contention last weekend, both players could feature at Kingsholm again this season when it hosts the Baa-baas’ clash against Ireland next Tuesday.

England trio Andy Gomarsall, Mark Regan and Danny Grewcock also take their places in a squad that includes former Australia Test fly-half Stephen Larkham and ex-Wales captain Gareth Thomas.

Larkham is part of a sizeable overseas contingent, with fellow Australians Morgan Turinui and David Croft also selected, while London Irish provide their Australian full-back Peter Hewat and Samoan centre Seilala Mapusua.

Elsewhere, Newcastle-bound Otago captain Craig Newby will fly the New Zealand flag along with Saracens fly-half Glen Jackson.

The squad, coached by Cardiff Blues boss David Young, tackle Belgium in Brussels on Saturday, before facing Ireland and then England at Twickenham on June 1.

Barbarians president Micky Steele-Bodger said: “Like England and Ireland, we have had to cut our selection cloth in line with the European commitments of other clubs this weekend.

“However, we are delighted that players from Bath and Worcester, for instance, will be joining us in time for the second and third fixtures.

“Indeed, we are most appreciative of the co-operation we have received from a host of clubs across the board in making players available this year.”

Squad: Backs – I Balshaw (Gloucester), P Hewat (London Irish), T Delport (Worcester), L Vainikolo (Gloucester), G Thomas (Cardiff Blues), M Turinui (Queensland Reds), J Pretorius (Stormers), S Mapusua (London Irish), T Smith (ACT Brumbies), S Larkham (unattached), G Jackson (Saracens), A Gomarsall (Harlequins), M Claassens (Bath), R Powell (Worcester).

Forwards – F Pucciarello (Munster), C Visagie (Saracens), O le Roux (Leinster), P Collazo (Gloucester), D Crompton (Bristol), M Regan (Bristol), S Bruno (Sale Sharks), J Harrison (Ulster), K Chesney (Saracens), D Grewcock (Bath), R Skeate (Stormers), P Wannenburg (Blue Bulls), M Molitika (Cardiff Blues), D Croft (Queensland Reds), M Chapman (ACT Brumbies), C Newby (Otago Highlanders).

More in this section

CourtsRugbyHeathrowPlace: KingsholmPlace: BrusselsPlace: TwickenhamPlace: BathPlace: WorcesterPerson: PucciarelloPerson: Frederico PucciarelloPerson: Ollie le RouxPerson: Justin HarrisonPerson: Iain BalshawPerson: Lesley VainikoloPerson: Andy GomarsallPerson: Mark ReganPerson: Danny GrewcockPerson: Stephen LarkhamPerson: Gareth ThomasPerson: LarkhamPerson: Morgan TurinuiPerson: David CroftPerson: Peter HewatPerson: Seilala MapusuaPerson: Craig NewbyPerson: Glen JacksonPerson: David YoungPerson: Micky Steele-BodgerPerson: P HewatPerson: T DelportPerson: L VainikoloPerson: G ThomasPerson: M TurinuiPerson: J PretoriusPerson: S MapusuaPerson: T SmithPerson: S LarkhamPerson: G JacksonPerson: A GomarsallPerson: M ClaassensPerson: R PowellPerson: F PucciarelloPerson: C VisagiePerson: O Le RouxPerson: P CollazoPerson: D CromptonPerson: M ReganPerson: BrunoPerson: J HarrisonPerson: K ChesneyPerson: D GrewcockPerson: RPerson: P WannenburgPerson: M MolitikaPerson: D CroftPerson: M ChapmanPerson: C NewbyEvent: Baa-BaasEvent: Baa-baas’Event: AustraliaOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: BarbariansOrganisation: BelgiumOrganisation: IrelandOrganisation: EnglandOrganisation: GloucesterOrganisation: London IrishOrganisation: SaracensOrganisation: Cardiff BluesOrganisation: BalshawOrganisation: WorcesterOrganisation: Queensland RedsOrganisation: StormersOrganisation: ACT BrumbiesOrganisation: HarlequinsOrganisation: BathOrganisation: BristolOrganisation: Sale SharksOrganisation: Blue BullsOrganisation: Otago Highlanders

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox