Tierney demands more discipline from Ireland’s women’s squad when they take on England

Ireland’s women’s squad will be looking to reduce the number of unforced errors they committed in the loss to France as they return to action tomorrow at Twickenham (7.15pm), says coach Tom Tierney.
Tierney demands more discipline from Ireland’s women’s squad when they take on England

Tierney has made a number of changes to his starting line-up for the meeting with England, who are two-for-two from t opening encounters against Scotland and Italy.

Up front, Ciara Griffin, who won her second cap in Perpignan is handed a first Six Nations start at flanker. This change sees Paula Fitzpatrick shift to No.8 and Heather O’Brien lose out. Behind the scrum, there is a straight swap at 10 where the experienced Nora Stapleton comes in for Nikki Caughey. Prop Fiona Hayes, who was last involved in Ireland’s final game of the 2015 Six Nations comes onto the replacements bench.

Said Tierney: “I thought there were a lot of positives to take from the French game. We made too many unforced errors in Perpignan, so if we can rectify that I think we have got a very good chance Saturday.”

England coach Scott Bemand makes one change to his starting XV, Emma Croker in for Amy Cokayne at hooker.

RELAND (v England, tomorrow, Twickenham):

Niamh Briggs (Munster, capt), Elise O’Byrne-White (Leinster), Aine Donnelly (Leinster), Sene Naoupu (Connacht), Mairead Coyne (Connacht), Nora Stapleton (Leinster), Larissa Muldoon (Skewen); Ruth O’Reilly (Connacht), Cliodhna Moloney (Leinster), Ailis Egan (Leinster), Sophie Spence (Leinster), Marie-Louise Reilly (Leinster), Ciara Griffin (Munster), Claire Molloy (Bristol), Paula Fitzpatrick (Toulouse).


Zoe Grattage (Munster), Fiona Hayes (Munster), Fiona Reidy (Munster), Ciara Cooney (Leinster), Heather O’Brien (Toulouse), Mary Healy (Connacht), Nikki Caughey (Ulster) Jackie Shiels (Richmond).


Katie Mason (Bristol), Lydia Thompson, Lauren Cattell, Ceri Large, Lotte Clapp, Amber Reed, La Toya Mason; Sarah Hunter, Izzy Noel-Smith, Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield), Emily Braund, Abbie Scott, Vickii Cornborough, Emma Croker, Rochelle Clark.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox