Trimble try earns Ulster share of spoils

Scarlets 32 Ulster 32

Trimble try earns   Ulster  share of  spoils

The Scarlets led 32-18 with 17 minutes left but, spearheaded by second-half replacements Trimble and powerhouse number eight Nick Williams, the Ulstermen came storming back.

The first try came after just two minutes and was scored by wing Harry Robinson — one of three new signings making their Scarlets debut — with fly-half Rhys Priestland adding the extras.

Ulster’s response was impressive. From an attacking line-out, their forwards charged at the home line and the Scarlets defence was eventually stretched enough for South African debutant Franco van der Merwe to drive over for a score converted by fly-half Ian Humphreys.

Priestland landed a penalty straight from the restart, but back came Ulster with a second try inside four minutes – from Van der Merwe’s second-row partner Dan Tuohy.

But the home side piled on the pressure and eventually Ulster’s defence succumbed with number eight Rory Pitman — a summer arrival from London Wasps – touching down out wide.

Priestland was again on target with the extras.

Humphreys reduced the deficit to 17-15 with a long-range penalty, but Gareth Davies raced 60 metres to dot down before Priestland converted, making it 24-15 at the break.

Priestland and Humphreys traded penalties for 27-18 before Gareth Davies appeared to put the game out of Ulster’s reach with his second try.

But late tries from Ludik and Trimble, as well as a late Humphreys conversion rescued a draw.

SCARLETS: L Williams, Robinson, King, S Williams, Tagicakibau, Priestland, G Davies, John, Owens, R Jones, Ball, Synman, McCusker, Barclay, Pitman.

Replacements: Owen for Tagicakibau (58), R Williams for G Davies (65), R Evans for John (61), P Edwards for R Jones (73), A Shingler for McCusker (52).

ULSTER: Ludik, Allen, Payne, Olding, Gilroy, Humphreys, P Marshall, Black, Herring, Herbst, Tuohy, van der Merwe, Diack, Henry, Wilson.

Replacements: Trimble for Allen (51), L Marshall for Payne (49), Heaney for P Marshall (79), Warwick for Black (41), Fitzpatrick for Herbst (32), Stevenson for van der Merwe (79), Williams for Wilson (51).

Ref: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox