Ulster’s Trimble wins player of the year award

Andrew Trimble pipped Peter O’Mahony to the players’ player of the year gong at last night’s IRUPA awards ceremony.

Ulster’s Trimble wins player of the year award

Trimble completed a hat-trick after winning the Young Player of the Year award in 2006 and Try of the Year in 2010.

Connacht’s Robbie Henshaw was awarded the Nevin Spence Young Player for the second season in succession while Rob Kearney’s intercept try against New Zealand during Ireland’s heartbreaking Test defeat won the Try of the Year.

Joining Ireland’s heroes in the IRUPA Hall of Fame was Ulster and Ireland prop Simon Best. Munster’s James Coughlan collected the Unsung Hero Award, voted for by the public on the O2 Ireland Facebook and Twitter accounts. Devin Toner was presented with the Supporters Player of the Year as chosen by listeners to Off the Ball.

Leinster’s Shane Jennings was awarded the Medal for Excellence for his on-field effort combined with off-field commitment to the game. Three new awards were presented this year; the Contribution to Society, was presented to Donncha O’Callaghan in recognition of the impact he made through his work with Unicef. The inaugural Women’s Sevens Player of the Year was presented to Nicole Cronin while the public voted Ireland’s Six Nations title win as the Rugby Moment of the Year, via Twitter.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox