Ireland Schools lose way in second half

The Ireland U18 Schools team were defeated by England (30-14) in Saturday’s FIRA/AER European Championship final in Wronki, Poland.

Noel McNamara’s charges were well in contention at the interval, trailing 17-14, with Jack Power and Will Connors crossing for tries and Matthew Gilsenan adding the conversions.

But England took charge on the restart, scoring 13 unanswered points to claim the title — their third consecutive European crown.

Ireland defeated Georgia and France in their two previous matches.

IRELAND U18 SCHOOLS:J Stockdale (Wallace High School/Ulster); J Larmour (St. Andrew’s College/Leinster), J Power (Blackrock College/Leinster), P Kiernan (Presentation Brothers Cork/Munster), C Nash (Crescent College Comprehensive/Munster); M Gilsenan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster), R Osborne (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster); A Porter (St. Andrew’s College/Leinster), J Molony (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster), C O’Donnell (Summerhill College/Connacht), J Ryan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster) (capt), S O’Connor (Rockwell College/Munster), W Connors (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster), J Guy (St. Andrew’s College/Leinster), M Deegan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster).

Replacements: A McMahon (Rockwell College/Munster) for Nash, J O’Brien (Newbridge College/Leinster) for Larmour (both 41 mins), G Jones (St. Andrew’s College/Leinster) for Deegan, H Kean (Blackrock College/Leinster) for Molony (both 58), P Claffey (Garbally College/Connacht) for O’Connor (59), D Duggan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster) for Osborne (63), C Kenny (Garbally College/Connacht) for O’Donnell (66), O O’Meara (St. Michael’s College/Leinster) for Kiernan (70). Not used: C McIlmurray (Campbell College/Ulster), C Mulcahy (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster).

ENGLAND U18 SCHOOLS:T Prell (Giggleswick School/Leeds Carnegie); G Perkins (Oaklands/Saracens), L Slowik (Filton College/Bristol), C Thacker (Leicester Grammar/Leicester Tigers), K Little (Hartpury College/Exeter Chiefs); H Mallinder (Rugby School/Northampton Saints), J Maunder (Blundells School/Exeter Chiefs); L Boyce (Prince Henry’s Grammar/Leeds Carnegie), O Adams (St. Paul’s Catholic College/London Irish), J Ibuanokpe (Dulwich College/Harlequins), S South (Whitgift School/Harlequins), G Nott (King’s School Chester/Sale Sharks), J Batley (Hartpury College/Gloucester), S Underhill (Sir Thomas Rich’s School/Gloucester) (capt), W Safe (Hartpury College/Gloucester).

Replacements: J Marchant (Peter Symonds/Harlequins) for Slowik, R Segun (Stowe School/Northampton Saints) for Little (both half-time), J Bainbridge (Prince Henry’s Grammar/Leeds Carnegie) for South (41 mins), O Hills (Queen Elizabeth Wyggeston College/Leicester Tigers) for Boyce, A Mitchell (Lymm High School/Sale Sharks) for Maunder (both 50), J Stanley (Truro College/Exeter Chiefs) for Ibuanokpe, C Chick (Gosforth Academy/Newcastle Falcons) for Underhill (both 55), J Fish (Trent College/Northampton Saints) for Adams (58).

Referee: Julien Castaignede (France).

More in this section

courtsrugbyplace: wronki, polandplace: franceperson: noel mcnamaraperson: jack powerperson: will connorsperson: matthew gilsenanperson: j larmourperson: j powerperson: p kiernanperson: c nashperson: m gilsenanperson: r osborneperson: a porterperson: j molonyperson: c o’donnellperson: j ryanperson: s o’connorperson: w connorsperson: j guyperson: m deeganperson: nashperson: j o’brienperson: g jonesperson: deeganperson: h keanperson: molonyperson: p claffeyperson: o’connorperson: d dugganperson: osborneperson: c kennyperson: o o’mearaperson: prellperson: gperson: l slowikperson: c thackerperson: h mallinderperson: j maunderperson: o adamsperson: j ibuanokpeperson: j batleyperson: j marchantperson: peter symondsperson: slowikperson: r segunperson: littleperson: j bainbridgeperson: o hillsperson: a mitchellperson: maunderperson: j stanleyperson: ibuanokpeperson: j fishperson: adamsperson: julien castaignedeevent: fira/aer european championshiporganisation: ireland schoolsorganisation: ireland u18 schools teamorganisation: englandorganisation: irelandorganisation: georgiaorganisation: franceorganisation: ireland u18organisation: j stockdaleorganisation: wallace high schoolorganisation: ulsterorganisation: st. andrew’s collegeorganisation: leinsterorganisation: blackrock collegeorganisation: presentation brothers corkorganisation: munsterorganisation: crescent college comprehensiveorganisation: st. michael’s collegeorganisation: clongowes wood collegeorganisation: summerhill collegeorganisation: connachtorganisation: rockwell collegeorganisation: newbridge collegeorganisation: larmourorganisation: garbally collegeorganisation: o’donnellorganisation: campbell collegeorganisation: giggleswick schoolorganisation: leeds carnegieorganisation: perkinsorganisation: oaklandsorganisation: saracensorganisation: filton collegeorganisation: bristolorganisation: leicester grammarorganisation: leicester tigersorganisation: hartpury collegeorganisation: exeter chiefsorganisation: rugby schoolorganisation: northampton saintsorganisation: blundells schoolorganisation: prince henry’s grammarorganisation: st. paul’s catholic collegeorganisation: london irishorganisation: dulwich collegeorganisation: harlequinsorganisation: s southorganisation: whitgift schoolorganisation: king’s school chesterorganisation: sale sharksorganisation: hartpury college/gloucesterorganisation: s underhillorganisation: sir thomas rich’s schoolorganisation: w safeorganisation: stowe schoolorganisation: queen elizabeth wyggeston collegeorganisation: lymm high schoolorganisation: truro collegeorganisation: gosforth academyorganisation: newcastle falconsorganisation: trent college
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox