Madigan gets top player gong from Leinster peers

Ian Madigan was named the Bank of Ireland Leinster Players’ Player of the Year at the annual awards ceremony in the Mansion House, Dublin on Saturday.

Madigan gets top player gong from Leinster peers

The Blackrock College out-half has played an influential role for the province in 28 appearances to date this season (scoring 8 tries and 226 points) and has been a standout performer in Leinster’s PRO12 and European campaigns. He also made his Ireland debut against France.

Leinster Annual Awards Ball Winners: Bank of Ireland Players Player of the Year: Ian Madigan; Powerade Young Player of the Year: Jordi Murphy; Powerade School of the Year: Blackrock College; Herald PRO of the Year: Kirstin Smith (Railway Union); Cityjet Womens Player of the Year: Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere); Guinness Hall of Fame: Eddie Coleman; Canterbury Club Player of the Year: Aaron Deverell (Tullamore); Canterbury Junior Club of the Year: Tullamore RFC; Evening Herald Try of the Year: Mike Ross v London Wasps; Conrad Hotel Tackle of the Year: Isa Nacewa v Ulster; Cityjet Women’s Rugby Club Person of the Year: Eugene Noble (Clondalkin RFC); Special Merit School: St. Patrick’s Classical School, Navan; Honorary Lifetime Patron: David & Cathy Shubotham.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox