Munster make changes for RaboDirect derby

Munster coach Rob Penney has made 10 changes from the starting team defeated by Saracens last week for tomorrow’s RaboDirect derby with Connacht at the Sportsground in Galway.

Centres Casey Laulala and James Downey, hooker Mike Sherry, second row Donncha O’Callaghan and No 8 James Coughlan are all that remain from the team that started the Heineken Cup match at Vicarage Road last Sunday.

However, Penney can call on Stephen Archer, Luke O’Dea and Paddy Butler, who all got game time, while he has named both Wian du Preez and BJ Botha amongst the substitutes for tomorrow’s important clash.

Tommy O’Donnell is back in the team and Sean Dougall back in the squad after their respective injuries, while there are also returns for the vastly experienced Peter Stringer, Denis Hurley and Johne Murphy. Dave Kilcoyne, ruled out of the European clash last weekend through injury, is another to re-enter the fray.

From the 23 involved in Watford last week, Penney has excluded eight high profile players: Felix Jones through injury, Doug Howlett and Dave O’Callaghan (rested), Simon Zebo, Ronan O’Gara, Conor Murray, Donnacha Ryan and Peter O’Mahony (international roster).

Connacht coach Eric Elwood will announce his side today.

MUNSTER (v Connacht): D Hurley, J Murphy, C Laulala, J Downey, L O’Dea, I Keatley, P Stringer, D Kilcoyne, M Sherry, S Archer, D O’Callaghan, B Holland, P Butler, J Coughlan, T O’Donnell.

Replacements: S Henry, W du Preez, BJ Botha, D Foley, S Dougall, D Williams, JJ Hanrahan, D Barnes.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox