Leinster’s late burst sees off Munster

Leinster U20 26 Munster U20 12

It was tit-for-tat as Leinster looked for fast ball into space and Munster countered through a powerful scrum and swift breakdown work.

Leinster centre Tom Daly struck four penalties to two from Munster scrum-half Brian Haugh, though the home side were reduced to 13 near the end of the half as ref Stuart Gaffikin went card crazy, binning a third Leinster player as Haugh narrowed the gap to 12-9.

It was soon level when Daly was slow away from a ruck and Haugh made him pay from left of the posts. Then, Shanahan intervened on a weaving run to score. Daly’s conversion made it 19-12. But, they needed Farrell’s charge down for the insurance, converted by Liam Burke.

Leinster scorers: (D Shanahan, T Farrell try each; T Daly 4 pens, con; L Burke con).

Munster scorers: (B Haugh 4 pens).

LEINSTER: J Fitzpatrick; M McFarland, T Farrell, T Daly, E Quinn; B Holland, D Shanahan; E Byrne (c), B Byrne, D O’Byrne, J Sexton, G Thornbury, D Leavy, J van der Flier, P Timmins.

Replacements: J Lawless for O’Byrne 30; K Murphy for Lawless ht; D Lawler for Sexton 51; R O’Loughlin for Quinn 68; L Burke for Shanahan 72; C Kilcoyne for B Byrne 74; J Glynn for Holland 76; C Owende for Thornbury 78.

MUNSTER: D Sweetnam; R Jermyn, H McNulty, R Scannell, A Enright; T Kiersey, B Haugh; N Horan, W Foley, B Scott, S McCarthy, J Madigan, J O’Donoghue, D Ryan, J Fitzgerald (c).

Replacements: D O’Connell for Madigan, J Kind for Ryan both 58; S O’Leary for Scannell, M Abbott for Foley both 68; C O’Donnell for Horan 69; B Nugent for Haugh 70; D Hartnett for Scott 73; J McInerney for Enright 77.

Referee: S Gaffikan, IRFU.

Result: Connacht U20 7 Ulster U20 9 Scorers for Connacht: Try: A O’Meara, Con: D Leader. Ulster: Pens: S Olding (2) Drops: S Olding.

More in this section

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd