Ardscoil and CBC set for final cracker

Ardscoil Rís go in search of a rare Avonmore Supermilk Munster Schools Junior Cup title when they take on specialists Christian Brothers College, Cork, in an eagerly-awaited decider at Musgrave Park today (3pm).

The Limerick school include three survivors from the team beaten in last year’s final — Shane Fenton, Kelvin Browne and Killian Bracken.

Additionally, there are four of this year’s successful McCarthy Cup side in the team — Pearse Lyons, Jerry McCabe, Jack Sexton and Jack O’Donnell.

Having scored a powerful win over Presentation Brothers College in the semi-final, they will also feel they are up to the challenge of a highly-rated Christians side going for their first title since 2006.

CBC: K Doyle, D Lee, M Clune, P Hyde, B O’Callaghan, M O’Halloran, J Murphy, C Fitzgerald, V O’Brien, G Roche (captain), D Lynch, C Barry, E O’Hanlon, E Mintern, D Walsh.

ARDSCOIL RÍS: L. Brock, P De Brun, P McNamara, J O’Donnell, L White, D O’Mahony, H Burke, P Lyons, K Bracken, T Walsh, D Ryan, K Browne, J McCabe, S Fenton (captain), J Sexton.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox