Hook points to penalty call as Boks edge Wales

WELSH full-back James Hook believes his early penalty went over and his side should have beaten reigning world champions South Africa in their thrilling opener yesterday.

Hook points to penalty call as Boks edge Wales

The 14th-minute strike sailed high above the posts and looked to have gone over, but assistant referees Vinny Munro and George Clancy kept their flags down.

Match referee Wayne Barnes did not have jurisdiction to refer it to TV match official Matt Goddard for a replay verdict, and South Africa escaped.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Unlimited access. Half the price.

Annual €130 €65

Best value

Monthly €12€6 / month

More in this section

Sport

Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers. and reporters

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited