Boks name 11 uncapped players on training squad

SPRINGBOK coach Peter de Villiers has named 11 uncapped players in his preliminary 39-man training squad for their Grand Slam tour of Britain and Ireland.

The majority of the party featured in the Springboks worst ever Tri Nations campaign earlier this season, but there are plenty of fresh faces for the two-day training camp the party will undertake in Johannesburg from Friday.

Elton Jantjies, Patrick Lambie, Lwazi Mvovo, Willem Alberts, Dean Greyley, Ashley Johnson, Werner Kruger, Gerhard Mostert, Coenie Oosthuizen, Duane Vermeulen and Deon Stegmann are the uncapped men, with Lions fly-half Jantjies and Sharks back Lambie having attracted particular attention for their excellent displays during the ongoing Currie Cup tournament.

The Springboks will be without captain John Smit when they head for the Northern Hemisphere because of injury while props Gurthro Steenkamp, hooker Gary Botha, centre Jaque Fourie, scrum-half Fourie du Preez, lock Andries Bekker and flanker Heinrich Brussow will also be missing.

De Villiers’ final squad for the tour is set to be named on October 30 following the Currie Cup final.

South Africa’s preliminary training squad:

Backs – G Aplon, B Basson, J de Jongh, J de Villiers, B Habana, F Hougaard, A Jacobs, E Jantjies, R Januarie, Z Kirchner, P Lambie, L Mvovo, W Olivier, JP Pietersen, M Steyn.

Forwards – W Alberts, B Botha, S Burger, B du Plessis, J du Plessis, D Greyling, A Hargreaves, A Johnson, R Kankowski, W Kruger, V Matfield, G Mostert, T Mtawarira, C Oosthuizen, D Potgieter, C Ralepelle, D Rossouw, J Smith, A Strauss, P Spies, D Stegman, CJ van der Linde, F van der Merwe, D Vermeule.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox