UL Bohs secure cup glory again

TWELVE months ago, UL Bohemian captured the Munster Junior Cup for the first time in 77 years.

It now looks like they are going to make a habit of such successes after retaining the trophy with victory in yesterday’s keenly contested final at Dooradoyle.

The game was decided by a smashing try in the 72nd minute by Giles Boland who took a superb line off a lovely pass from his centre partner Ross Butler to score near the posts.

When out-half Aidan McNulty converted to put UL Bohs 13-6 in front, Young Munster were facing an uphill struggle but they came back and swarmed all over the opposition line. They put in several phases until their captain, centre Cian Clohessy, was held up by a determined defence when a try looked on the cards and a resulting penalty cleared the way for Bohs’ third win in the competition.

The game needed an exciting finish considering much of the early action was far from memorable. McNulty put UL Bohs ahead with a penalty from 45m on the stroke of half-time before Ian Cross equalised 13 minutes into the second half. McNulty and Cross exchanged penalties in the 67th and 70th minutes before Boland’s try.

Anthony Hartigan proved an inspirational leader for UL Bohs who had a speedy three-quarter line in which wingers Cian Aherne and Mark Doyle impressed. And they achieved their goal in spite of having three players, Ian Condell, Eddie Rossiter and Ross Butler, in the bin at various stages.

Young Munster were looking to their forwards to lay the foundations for a first title since 1999 when Munster captain Paul O’Connell was in the side and the completion of the senior-junior cup double last achieved in 1984. O’Connell was present again yesterday to see his club put in a spirited display with Liam Óg Murphy, Alan Cotter and Brendan Guilfoyle prominent up front and replacement Tom Cronin making a difference at scrum-half. But they failed to breach a determined UL Bohs defence.

UL/BOHEMIAN: H. de Stackpoole; C. Aherne, R. Butler, G. Boland, M. Doyle; A. McNulty, D. Farrell; K. Flanagan, E. Rossiter, G. Walsh, A. Hartigan capt, K. Bracken, C. O’Neill, I. Conell, N. Kinnane. Replacements: S. Hassett for Flanagan (40); J. O’Neill for C. O’Neill (48); T. Foley for Kinnane (61).

YOUNG MUNSTER: D. Bannon; J. Jackman, D. Grace, C. Clohessy capt, D. Long; I. Cross, D. Barry; S. Coppello, P. McMahon, A. Cotter, K. Hanley, J. Griffin, G. Burke, L. Óg Murphy, B. Guilfoyle.

Replacements: T. Cronin for Barry (44); B. Collins and D. O’Dwyer for Coppello and McMahon both (63); B. Collins for Griffin (73).

Referee: E. Hogan O’Connell (IRFU).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox