Irish U18s eyeing place in decider with win over Georgia

IRELAND will be bidding to advance to their third FIRA-AER U18 Championship decider in four years when they face Georgia in tonight’s semi-final at Casale Sul Sile, Treviso, (7pm, Irish time).

The winners will face either France or Belgium in Saturday’s title clash.

Up front Kieran Ball and Jonathan Murphy start alongside captain Tadhg Furlong. Conor Kindregan and Alan O’Connor will again anchor the second row with Charles Gallagher, Conor Clancy and Eoghan Masterson in the back row.

Kieran Marmion and try-scoring Grant Connon form the half-back partnership. Carlow’s Thomas Daly and Michael Sherlock of Skerries will combine in the centre while Callum Boland is named at full back with Joe Keane and Ferdia Keane completing the back three. Meanwhile the Irish U18 Schools squad to compete in a Five Nations Festival in Llandovery RFC, Wales (April 2-10) has been named.

Coach Terry McMaster has included 27 players in his selection.

IRELAND, (U18 v Georgia): C Boland, (Buccaneers, Connacht); F Kenny, (Presentation Bray/Greystones, Leinster); M Sherlock, (Skerries, Leinster); T Daly, (Carlow, Leinster); J Keane, (UL Bohemians, Connacht); G Connon, (Newcastle Falcons, Exiles); K Marmion, (Kirkham GS, Exiles); K Ball, (Wellington College/Saracens, Exiles); J Murphy, (Banbridge, Ulster); T Furlong, (New Ross, Leinster); C Kindregan, (Monivea, Connacht); A O’Connor, (Skerries, Leinster); C Gallagher, (Banbridge, Ulster); C Clancy, (Stoneyhurst College/London Irish, Exiles); E Masterson, (Portlaoise, Leinster).

Replacements: T Margetson, (Wellington College, Exiles); J Considine, (Young Munster, Munster); C Tonge, (Skerries, Leinster); D Mannion, (Wicklow, Leinster); C Ryan, (Navan, Leinster); A Khan, (Navan, Leinster); J Walsh, (London Wasps, Exiles); J Carty, (Buccaneers, Connacht); C Farrell, (Clogher Valley, Ulster); S Layden, (Cistercian Coll. Roscrea, Connacht); C McGovern, (Crosshaven, Munster).

IRELAND U18 SCHOOLS SQUAD: Backs, (13): L McGrath, (St Michael’s College); H Doyle, (Royal School Armagh); P Jackson, (Methodist College); S Coghlan Murray, (Newbridge College); M Corballis, (St Michael’s College); A Thomas, (Castleknock College); S Macauley, (Clongowes Wood College); C Marsh, (St Michael’s College); R McMaster, (Coleraine Academical Institution); P Nelson, (Royal School Dungannon); G O’Suilleabhain, (Clongowes Wood College); C Simpson, (Ballymena Academy); JJ Hanrahan, (Rockwell College).

Forwards, (14): A Clarkin, (Terenure College); A Conneely, (Colaiste Iognaid); E Cross, (Crescent Community College); C Gilsenan Clongowes Wood College); J Conan, (St Gerard’s School); D Qualter, (Sligo Grammar School); R Harrison, (Methodist College); K McCall, (Wallace High School); D Merrey, (The King’s Hospital); J Rael, (Castletroy Community College); P Reilly, (Castleknock College); N Scannell, (Presentation College Cork); Y Browne, (CBC); S Buckley, (Rockwell College).

More in this section

courtsrugbyplace: casale sul sileplace: trevisoplace: llandovery rfcplace: clogher valleyplace: ulsterplace: connachtperson: kieran ballperson: jonathan murphyperson: tadhg furlongperson: conor kindreganperson: alan o’connorperson: charles gallagherperson: conor clancyperson: eoghan mastersonperson: kieran marmionperson: grant connonperson: thomas dalyperson: michael sherlockperson: callum bolandperson: joe keaneperson: ferdia keaneperson: terry mcmasterperson: c bolandperson: f kennyperson: m sherlockperson: t dalyperson: j keaneperson: g connonperson: k marmionperson: k ballperson: j murphyperson: t furlongperson: c kindreganperson: a o’connorperson: c gallagherperson: c clancyperson: e mastersonperson: t margetsonperson: j considineperson: c tongeperson: d mannionperson: c ryanperson: a khanperson: j walshperson: j cartyperson: c farrellperson: s laydenperson: c mcgovernperson: l mcgrathperson: h doyleperson: p jacksonperson: s coghlan murrayperson: a thomasperson: s macauleyperson: c marshperson: r mcmasterperson: p nelsonperson: g o’suilleabhainperson: c simpsonperson: jj hanrahanperson: clarkinperson: a conneelyperson: e crossperson: c gilsenanperson: j conanperson: d qualterperson: r harrisonperson: k mccallperson: d merreyperson: j raelperson: p reillyperson: n scannellperson: y browneperson: s buckleyevent: fira-aer u18 championshipevent: five nations festivalorganisation: irish u18sorganisation: georgiaorganisation: irelandorganisation: irish u18 schoolsorganisation: u18organisation: buccaneersorganisation: connachtorganisation: brayorganisation: greystonesorganisation: leinsterorganisation: skerriesorganisation: carloworganisation: ul bohemiansorganisation: newcastle falconsorganisation: kirkham gs, exilesorganisation: wellington collegeorganisation: saracens,organisation: exilesorganisation: banbridgeorganisation: new rossorganisation: moniveaorganisation: stoneyhurst collegeorganisation: london irishorganisation: portlaoiseorganisation: wellington college, exilesorganisation: young munsterorganisation: munsterorganisation: wickloworganisation: navanorganisation: london wasps, exilesorganisation: st michael’s collegeorganisation: royal school armaghorganisation: methodist collegeorganisation: newbridge collegeorganisation: castleknock collegeorganisation: clongowes wood collegeorganisation: coleraine academical institutionorganisation: royal school dungannonorganisation: ballymena academyorganisation: rockwell collegeorganisation: terenure collegeorganisation: coláiste iognáidorganisation: crescent community collegeorganisation: st gerard’s schoolorganisation: sligo grammar schoolorganisation: wallace high schoolorganisation: the king’s hospitalorganisation: castletroy community collegeorganisation: presentation college corkorganisation: cbc
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox