Garryowen winger O’Boyle set for lay-off

MUNSTER tyro Ciaran O’Boyle is facing eight weeks on the sidelines with a torn hamstring.

The Garryowen winger has impressed in recent weeks — scoring a bonus-point clinching try in his Magners League debut against Edinburgh at Musgrave Park last month and touching down in the win over Newport Gwent Dragons success on Saturday.

However, the 25-year-old was forced off after 49 minutes of that tie through injury and, having assessed the problem, team medics have predicted a lay-off of two months for the Limerick man.

Meanwhile Tom Gleeson and James Coughlan who represented Ireland in the Rugby World Cup Sevens finals last week are included in the Munster A squad for today’s clash with their Ulster counterparts, (Shaws Bridge, 2.30pm).

Gleeson is named in a starting line-out which also includes Denis Hurley, Anthony Horgan, Jeremy Manning, Mike Prendergast and Nick Williams. Replacements: Mike Sherry, Dave Ryan, James Coughlan, Tommy O’Donnell, Kieran

Munster most recent outing was a 39-6 win over Leinster with the help of a brace of tries from Scott Deasy who forms a youthful midfield partnership with Gleeson.

Experienced full back Bryn Cunningham will captain the hosts.

Phoenix Ulster Rugby Academy players; Ian Whitten, Tommy Seymour and Willie Falloon have all been named on the starting side with Cillian Willis named at scrum half.

Ulster boss Gary Longwell said: “We have had a good run in the season so far, winning all of our games, apart from our last meeting with Munster. Now we are on home soil, we will be looking for that all important victory.

“The team has a great mix of ability and experience, and we plan to use the resources we have, tactically and skilfully, to achieve a convincing win over Munster tomorrow.”

ULSTER A: B Cunningham (C), T Nagusa, M McCrea, I Whitten, T Seymour, N O’Connor, C Willis; B Young, S Philpott, D Roach, C Napier, R Caldwell, F Paulo, W Falloon, T Anderson.Replacements: N Brady, P Karayiannis, E O’Donoghue, D Pollock, P Marshall, J Shiels, I Boss.MUNSTER A: D Hurley; A Horgan, S Deasy, T Gleeson, K Lewis; J Manning, M Prendergast; D Hurley, M Essex, T Ryan; D Foley, D Ryan; B Holland, N Ronan, N Williams. Replacements: M Sherry, D Ryan, J Coughlan, T O’Donnell, K Essex, D Williams, F Aherne.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox