Munchin’s braced for tough test against improving Rockwell

ST MUNCHIN’S, with wins over a highly-rated CBC and Ard Scoil Ris, are favourites to advance against Rockwell in today’s Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup semi-final at Clanwilliam Park (3pm).

Munchin’s surprise 14-5 victory over Christians in Cork established them as dark horses for the title but Rockwell’s capacity to step up on previous displays was evident in their win over Glenstal and suggests they are capable of an upset this afternoon.

Munchin’s have captured the title on three occasions this decade, most recently in 2006. Skipper and number eight Ger Burke along with second row Mike Madden (who doubles as their place kicker) are key men in the pack while they boast a speedy, strong running back division in which full-back Jack Murray and wings Craig O’Hanlon and Conor Cunnane have impressed this season.

Rockwell lost to defending champions Castletroy in their opener but remain in the race for honours after pipping Glenstal 22-17 in the losers’ group. It was a highly entertaining affair in which Gavin Ryan, Kenneth O’Dwyer and Brian Smith touched down for the winners while full-back Paul McEvoy landed a penalty from inside his own half.

That result put Rockwell into the semi-finals for the first time since 2004, to the delight of coach Tony Smith. Said Smith: “We are encouraged by how much we improved against Glenstal after losing our first match against Castletroy. St Munchin’s are a very good side, a point well made by their win over a very big CBC side but we are well up for this game.”

Rock will look to their promising 16-year-old number six, Stephen Maguire; skipper Paddy Butler and tight head Brendan Cullinane to give them parity up front while full-back McEvoy is an exciting prospect.

The odds of progression to the final favour the Limerick college but this is set to be a very competitive game.

ROCKWELL: P. McEvoy; K. O’Dwyer, G. Ryan, B. Smith, R. Mullane; J.J. Hanrahan, E. Ahearne; T. Doyle, L. O’Donnell, B. Cullinane, S. O’Flynn, S. Buckley, S. Maguire, J. Nolan, P. Butler (C).

Replacements: Cian O’Donnell, Colm O’Donnell, L. Horgan, J. Lonergan, W. O’Connor, B. O’Rahilly.

ST MUNCHIN’S: J. Murray; Craig O’Hanlon, D. Browne, D. Turner, C. Cunnane; R. Guerin, C. O’Driscoll; Ciaran O’Hanlon, E. Hogan, A. O’Brien, M. Madden, S. Duggan, M. Healy, J. Sherin, G. Burke (C).

Replacements: E. Rowley, J. McGovern, T. Goggin, K. McManus, B. Mullins, E. Collins, C. O’Neill.

More in this section

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd