Scots pay as Irish ladies sparkle under lights

IRELAND got their Six Nations campaign back on track last night as they ground out a solid victory over Scotland at Templeville Road.

Ireland are now just one win away from their best ever Six Nations finish and they’ll look forward to the visit of Wales to Dublin in their next outing.

This was Ireland’s first win under lights this season at their favoured venue, and just like in their win against Italy here on the opening afternoon, it was in the second half that Ireland really sparked into life.

Scotland played with the stiff breeze in the opening half and after a number of attacks, the visitors registered the game’s first score with a penalty under the posts which Sarah Gill knocked over.

These points brought to an end 30 minutes of exhausting play in the centre of the pitch with neither team able to break through.

Before the close of the half though, Ireland had their riposte when outhalf Joanne O’Sullivan’s line break and determined sprint saw her burst through the defence to touch down and give her team the lead.

After the break, Ireland dominated and forced a penalty, converted by Grace Davitt, within five minutes of the turnaround.

Ireland stayed on the attack for the remainder of the match with backrow Orla Brennan catching the eye as her side pressed hard for more scores.

Once again a fine pack effort helped Ireland gain crucial territory and it was on the end of one strong burst from the forwards that skipper Sarah Jane Belton latched onto the ball to dive over the line to secure the win with 10 minutes to go.

England play France today with the winners likely to be the eventual champions this season.

Scorers: Ireland: J O’Sullivan (I try), Grace Davitt (1 pen), S J Belton (1 try). Scotland: Sarah Gill (1 pen).

IRELAND: SJ Belton (capt); L Cantwell, P Kelly, S Houston, G Davitt; J O’Sullivan, T Rosser; F Coghlan, J Limbert, M Barrett, C Mahon, G Healy, E O’Sullivan, S Ryan, O Brennan.

Replacements: L Austin (for S Ryan 69), A Davis (for G Davitt 74), L Beamish (for T Rosser 74), G Bourke (for M Barrett 77), K O’Loughlin (for E O’Sullivan 77), N Briggs (for SJ Belton 77)

SCOTLAND: L Douglas, H Bielinski, V Fitzpatrick, S Newton, C DaSilva, L Dalgleish, S Gill, H Lockhart, SL Walker, B Dickens, J McCord (capt), L Wheeler, L Blythe, L Moffat, L Reid.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox

Execution Time: 0.259 s