Mullane the playmaker as Munchin's master Clement's in local derby

ONCE the outstanding Richard Mullane opened his account with a try and conversion inside the opening minutes, this contest was never in doubt.

St Munchin's 34 St Clement's 8

St Munchin's went on to win 34-8 and will meet CBC in the Munster Schools Junior Cup semi-final. But credit to St Clement's, who battled hard to make yesterday's tie at Clifford Park an enjoyable contest for the surprisingly large attendance.

The strong running of Mullane was a feature throughout and his early try was a sign of what was to come as he broke several tackles before steaming over at the posts. He demonstrated his goal-kicking prowess when adding the extra points and then landing a penalty to make it 10-0 after eight minutes.

Scrum-half Ciaran Carberry interrupted the Munchins romp with a penalty for Clements who couldn't prevent St Munchin's number eight James Organ from powering over from 30 metres after 23 minutes.

Winger Pat Tobin got in on the try-scoring act on the stroke of half time as he scorched down the right wing for a fine score that Mullane again converted.

Playing against a stiff wind, Munchins remained in control and weren't fazed when Carberry forced his way over after a maul on the line to narrow the gap to 24-8.

Clements almost had a second try on 49 minutes when number eight Liam Ryan appeared to be clear only to be foiled by a perfectly executed tackle by Mullane.

All the while, the St Munchin's pack was ruling the roost and Organ regained the initiative when he raced some 60 metres for his second try before out-half Stephen Coughlan cleverly swerved over for his side's fifth on the stroke of full time.

ST MUNCHIN'S: A. Murnane; P. Tobin, C. Morgan, R. Mullane, D. Tobin; S. Coughlan, B. Tier; I. Benson, S. O'Neill, R. Gloster, E. Culhane, D. O'Halloran, S. Clery, I. Houlihan, J. Organ. Replacement: E. Cunnane for Clery 58 mins.

ST CLEMENT'S: N. Kearney; S. O'Callaghan, J. Mann, James Ryan, M. Alford; Jeffrey Ryan, C. Carberry; G. Hoare, C. O'Reilly, L. Lawless, D. McInerney, K. Hanley, S. Ryan, N. Clancy, L. Ryan.

Referee: L. Coffey (Munster).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox