PBC win and now meet CBC

PBC Cork 16

And yesterday's Coca Cola Munster Schools Junior Cup quarter-final replay at the Mardyke proved just that.

Referee Ken Henley-Willis entered into the spirit of the occasion by being sensible in his application of the laws. Both teams were allowed play when there was any possibility of doing so, and the frustration that often creeps in at this level was never evident.

Presentation advance to the penultimate stage against old rivals CBC and deserved their victory but one that was never totally assured until the last play of the game.

The teams were involved in a thrilling draw a week ago, and while this encounter did not quite come up to the same standards, it was very good.

St Munchin's enjoyed the better of the lineout battle but there was little between the two forward packs.

Captain Ger Slattery and No 8 Howard Caulfield were particularly conspicuous for the visitors while Pres No 8 Robert Allen and flanker Owen Cummins matched them all the way.

There were moments of inspiration from St Munchin's fullback Richard Mullane and centre James O'Neill, but Pres had their say through Shane Costigan and Eoin Cotter, quite clearly the most elusive runner on view.

Generally, defences had the better of the afternoon and the only backs' try came from Pres centre Scott Deasy a game-breaking try at a time when the game was delicately balanced.

St Munchin's, pinned in defence for much of the second half, tried to force the pace and Deasy intercepted near the half way line and raced away for a try that Cotter converted.

A minute from the end, St Munchin's dragged themselves back into the contest with a second try from Ronan Costello but it was not enough.

Presentation's Jeffrey Power dropped a superb goal with the last kick of the game to ensure his side's advancement to a semi-final with their old rivals.

PBC: S Costigan, E Cotter, B Dennehy, S Deasy, T Kenneally, J Power, P Hogan, S Malone (captain), R Love, J Crotty, R MacCarthy, T Hennebry, O Cummins, R Allen, R Owens. Replacement: R Tollman for Dennehy (50, injured).

ST MUNCHIN'S: R Mullane, J O'Dwyer, J O'Neill, C Hayes, M Kinsella, P Rowley, T Bourke, J Organ, R Costello, C McNamara, J Griffin, G Slattery (captain), H Caulfield, D Hogan.

Referee: K Henley-Willis (Munster).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox