Leinster U21s atone with Ulster rout

Leinster U21 37 Ulster U21 6

Leinster adapted to the wet conditions quickly and Jonathan Sexton struck a third-minute drop goal and 19th-minute penalty.

Centre Conor Donohoe slashed through Ulster’s midfield for the opening try and Sexton’s cross-field kick was collected by Kevin Barden for the second in the 26th minute. Sexton converted from in front and the right touchline.

Rory Drysdale’s penalty did little to stem the tide and Devin Toner’s touchdown made it 25-3 at the break.

Drysdale’s second kick was small consolation to an Ulster side heavy on possession and light on points. It was left to replacement hooker Cian Culleton and Fionn Carr to benefit from Leinster’s forward dominance.

LEINSTER U21: F Carr (Blackrock); K Barden (Old Belvedere), F McFadden (UCD), C Donohoe (Dublin Uni), Shane Hanratty (Dublin Uni); J Sexton (St Mary’s), M D’Arcy (Dublin Uni); K O’Neill (Dublin Uni), G O’Meara (Lansdowne), P Doran-Jones (Dublin Uni), D O’Reilly (Dublin Uni), D Toner (Lansdowne), L Mantle (Greystones), D Laffan (Dublin Uni - Capt), S O’Brien (UCD). Replacements: S Mullane (Greystones) for Mantle ht; C Culleton (Dublin Uni) for O’Meara 60 mins; D Coughlan (Lansdowne) for D’Arcy 66; K Maloney (Blackrock) for Doran-Jones, A Geraghty (Lansdowne) for Sexton, C O’Sullivan (Greystones) for Hanratty, P Burns (Wanderers) for O’Reilly all 74.

ULSTER U21: R Drysdale (Ballymena); D Black (Dungannon), M Scott (Ballynahinch), J McGrugan (Ballymena), R Fegan (Malone); J Watt (Dublin Uni), J Burns (Dublin Uni); G Murphy (Dublin Uni), S Philpott (Harlequins), G Mitchell (Instonians), N Magee (Omagh), T Anderson (QUB), D Pollock (QUB - captain), William Falloon (Ballynahinch), S Ferris (Belfast Harlequins). Replacements: C Knipe (Dungannon) for Philpott, A Saunderson (Ballyclare) for Ferris, J Shiells (Dungannon) for Watt 55; M Suiter (Cooke) for Fegan, A Bartholomew (QUB) for Burns, D Cobain (Malone) for Magee, all 74.

Referee: T Collins (Munster).

More in this section

courtsrugbyplace: donnybrookperson: jonathan sextonperson: conor donohoeperson: sextonperson: kevin bardenperson: rory drysdaleperson: devin tonerperson: drysdaleperson: cian culletonperson: fionn carrperson: f carrperson: k bardenperson: f mcfaddenperson: c donohoeperson: shane hanrattyperson: j sextonperson: m d’arcyperson: k o’neillperson: g o’mearaperson: p doran-jonesperson: d o’reillyperson: d tonerperson: l mantleperson: d laffanperson: s o’brienperson: s mullaneperson: c culletonperson: o’mearaperson: d coughlanperson: d’arcyperson: k maloneyperson: doran-jonesperson: geraghtyperson: c o’sullivanperson: hanrattyperson: p burnsperson: o’reillyperson: r drysdaleperson: d blackperson: m scottperson: j mcgruganperson: r feganperson: maloneperson: j wattperson: j burnsperson: g murphyperson: s philpottperson: g mitchellperson: n mageeperson: t andersonperson: d pollockperson: william falloonperson: s ferrisperson: c knipeperson: dungannonperson: philpottperson: saundersonperson: ferrisperson: j shiellsperson: m suiterperson: cookeperson: feganperson: burnsperson: d cobainperson: mageeperson: t collinsorganisation: leinster u21sorganisation: ulsterorganisation: leinster u21organisation: ulster u21organisation: connachtorganisation: leinsterorganisation: blackrockorganisation: old belvedereorganisation: ucdorganisation: dublin uniorganisation: st mary’sorganisation: lansdowneorganisation: greystonesorganisation: wanderersorganisation: ballymenaorganisation: ballynahinchorganisation: harlequinsorganisation: instoniansorganisation: omaghorganisation: quborganisation: belfast harlequinsorganisation: ballyclareorganisation: munster

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox