Kieran Kingston hands Cork recall for trio

Recalls are the story of Kieran Kingston’s first Cork League panel which sees Cian McCarthy, Conor O’Sullivan and William Egan returning to the group.

Sarsfields pair McCarthy and O’Sullivan along with Kilbrin’s Egan had opted out of the squad for last year’s championship but will be in the shake-up. Colm Spillane and Paul Haughney also make a return to the panel.

Among the new faces are Blackrock’s Cathal Cormack and Stephen Murphy and Aghada man William Leahy.

Of the five introduced by Jimmy Barry-Murphy at this stage last year, only up-and-coming goalkeeper Patrick Collins is involved again. Jamie Coughlan, Rob O’Shea and Darren McCarthy were not included in the extended panel.

Christopher Joyce has been named as he continues his recovery from a cruciate tear. Aidan Walsh has also been out of action of late but is expected to be fit in time for Cork’s Division 1A opener away to Galway on February 14.

Glen Rovers’ Stephen McDonnell will captain the county this year

CORK (Allianz Hurling League panel):

Killian Burke (Midleton); Alan Cadogan (Douglas); Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s); Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig); Bill Cooper (Youghal); Cathal Cormack (Blackrock); Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown); William Egan (Kilbrin); Mark Ellis (Millstreet); Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s); Patrick Haughney (Midleton); Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers): Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh); Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields); Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr); William Leahy (Aghada); Conor Lehane (Midleton); Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields); Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk); Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers); Stephen Moylan (Douglas); Cormac Murphy (Mallow); Stephen Murphy (Blackrock); Anthony Nash (Kanturk); Luke O’Farrell (Midleton); Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown); Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields); Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne); Colm Spillane (Castlelyons); Aidan Walsh (Kanturk).


Limerick is once again coming up with some innovative new artistic ventures

More From The Irish Examiner