Stunned Hogan breaks silence on final dismissal

Richie Hogan has questioned James Owens’ decision to send him off in Sunday’s All-Ireland SHC final, insisting his elbow didn’t catch Cathal Barrett.

Stunned Hogan breaks silence on final dismissal

Richie Hogan has questioned James Owens’ decision to send him off in Sunday’s All-Ireland SHC final, insisting his elbow didn’t catch Cathal Barrett. The 2014 hurler of the year was dismissed in the 33rd minute for appearing to make contact with Barrett’s face. Owens made the call after consulting with his linesman Johnny Murphy.

However, Hogan is adamant the referee made the wrong decision and believes the divisive reaction to the red card indicates it wasn’t a straightforward call.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Unlimited access. Half the price.

Annual €130 €65

Best value

Monthly €12€6 / month

More in this section

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited