Tipp draft Heffernan and Breen in for Model clash

John Fogarty Tipperary boss Liam Sheedy has drafted in Barry Heffernan and Michael Breen to give his team a more physical edge in tomorrow’s All-Ireland semi-final against Wexford.

Tipp draft Heffernan and Breen in for Model clash

Tipperary boss Liam Sheedy has drafted in Barry Heffernan and Michael Breen to give his team a more physical edge in tomorrow’s All-Ireland semi-final against Wexford.

Heffernan and Breen replace Alan Flynn and Ger Browne, who began the quarter-final victory over Laois, Heffernan starting a game for the first time since the Munster SHC win over Clare in Ennis. Breen, despite picking up two yellow cards against Laois, is back having last started in the Munster final defeat to Limerick.

Jake Morris, the scorer of the winning goal in Tuesday’s U20 Munster final, is named on the bench, along with Jerome Cahill, who was in midfield for the win over Cork in Thurles.

The named Kilkenny team is the same which began the second half of the All-Ireland quarter-final win over Cork. Cillian Buckley, who was withdrawn at half time, is on the bench, with the man who replaced him last Sunday week, Walter Walsh, getting the nod to start.

Conor Fogarty is reassigned to the wing-back role he took up against Cork to accommodate Richie Leahy’s move into midfield from wing-forward.

Cork’s U20 football team to face Tyrone in tomorrow’s All-Ireland semi-final in Tullamore shows one change from the team which started the Munster final, Blake Murphy taking Mark Hodnett’s place, Murphy having replaced him in the first half.

KILKENNY (SHC v Limerick):

E. Murphy; P. Murphy, H. Lawlor, J. Holden; C. Fogarty, P. Walsh, P. Deegan; C. Browne, R. Leahy; J. Donnelly, T.J. Reid (c), W. Walsh; A. Mullen, C. Fennelly, R. Hogan. Subs: D. Brennan, E. Morrissey, J. Cleere, C. Delaney, C. Buckley, J. Maher, B. Ryan, B. Sheehan, L. Blanchfield, G. Aylward, A. Murphy.

TIPPERARY (SHC v Wexford):

B. Hogan, C. Barrett, J. Barry, B. Heffernan; B. Maher, P. Maher, R. Maher; N. McGrath, M. Breen; D. McCormack, J. O’Dwyer, N. O’Meara; J. Forde, S. Callanan (c), J. McGrath.


P. Maher, G. Browne, R. Byrne, J. Cahill, W. Connors, A. Flynn, M. Kehoe, S. Kennedy, D. Maher, J. Morris, S. O’Brien.

KILKENNY (MHC v Limerick):

A. Tallis; B. Reid, W. Halpin, T. Roche; P. McDonald, P. Moylan, Z. Bay-Hammond; L. Moore, J. Aylward; P. Blanchfield, C. O’Sullivan, J. Doyle; B. Drennan, T. Clifford, I. Byrne.


A. Rafter, A. Hickey, D. Walsh, S. Doyle, A. Murphy, P. Foley, J. McNamara, B. Wheeler, J. O’Keeffe.

CORK (U20 FC v Tyrone):

J. O’Keeffe; M. Mahoney, M. Shanley, P. Ring; G. O’Donovan, S. Meehan, P. O’Driscoll (c); B. Hartnett, D. O’Connell; C. Barrett, B. Murphy, C. O’Callaghan; M. Cronin, C. O’Mahony, D. Gore.


I. Giltinan, J. McCarthy, J. Murphy, S. Hickey, F. Herlihy, R. MaGuire, B. Hayes, M. Hodnett, G. O’Sullivan.

CORK (MFC v Monaghan):

C. O’Leary; A. Walsh-Murphy, D. Linehan, D. Peet; D. Cashman, N. Lordan, J. O’Shea; J. Lawton, K. Scannell; H. Murphy, C. Corbett (c), E. Nash; M. O’Neill, P. Campbell, J. Cahalane.


C. Dongan, S. Andrews, N. Gough, T. O’Donoghue, L. Murphy, S.

Aherne, R. O’Donovan, K. O’Driscoll, A. O’Hare.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: TipperaryPlace: EnnisPlace: ThurlesPlace: TullamorePerson: HeffernanPerson: BreenPerson: John FogartyPerson: Liam SheedyPerson: Barry HeffernanPerson: Michael BreenPerson: Alan FlynnPerson: Ger BrownePerson: Jake MorrisPerson: Jerome CahillPerson: Cillian BuckleyPerson: Walter WalshPerson: Conor FogartyPerson: Richie LeahyPerson: Blake MurphyPerson: Mark HodnettPerson: MurphyPerson: KilkennyPerson: E. MurphyPerson: P. MurphyPerson: LawlorPerson: J. HoldenPerson: C. FogartyPerson: P. DeeganPerson: C. BrownePerson: LeahyPerson: J. DonnellyPerson: T.J. ReidPerson: W. WalshPerson: A. MullenPerson: C. FennellyPerson: R. HoganPerson: D. BrennanPerson: E. MorrisseyPerson: J. CleerePerson: C. DelaneyPerson: C. BuckleyPerson: J. MaherPerson: B. RyanPerson: B. SheehanPerson: L. BlanchfieldPerson: G. AylwardPerson: A. MurphyPerson: B. HoganPerson: J. BarryPerson: B. HeffernanPerson: B. MaherPerson: P. MaherPerson: R. MaherPerson: N. McGrathPerson: M. BreenPerson: D. McCormackPerson: J. O’DwyerPerson: N. O’MearaPerson: J. FordePerson: J. McGrathPerson: G. BrownePerson: R. ByrnePerson: J. CahillPerson: W. ConnorsPerson: A. FlynnPerson: M. KehoePerson: S. KennedyPerson: MaherPerson: A. TallisPerson: B. ReidPerson: W. HalpinPerson: T. RochePerson: P. McDonaldPerson: P. MoylanPerson: Z. Bay-HammondPerson: L. MoorePerson: J. AylwardPerson: P. BlanchfieldPerson: C. O’SullivanPerson: J. DoylePerson: B. DrennanPerson: I. ByrnePerson: A. RafterPerson: A. HickeyPerson: D. WalshPerson: S. DoylePerson: P. FoleyPerson: J. McNamaraPerson: B. WheelerPerson: J. O’KeeffePerson: M. MahoneyPerson: ShanleyPerson: G. O’DonovanPerson: P. O’DriscollPerson: B. HartnettPerson: D. O’ConnellPerson: C. BarrettPerson: C. O’CallaghanPerson: M. CroninPerson: C. O’MahonyPerson: D. GorePerson: I. GiltinanPerson: J. McCarthyPerson: J. MurphyPerson: HickeyPerson: HerlihyPerson: MaguirePerson: HayesPerson: HodnettPerson: G. O’SullivanPerson: C. O’LearyPerson: A. Walsh-MurphyPerson: D. LinehanPerson: D. PeetPerson: D. CashmanPerson: LordanPerson: J. O’SheaPerson: J. LawtonPerson: K. ScannellPerson: H. MurphyPerson: M. O’NeillPerson: P. CampbellPerson: C. DonganPerson: S. AndrewsPerson: N. GoughPerson: T. O’DonoghuePerson: L. MurphyPerson: S. AhernePerson: R. O’DonovanPerson: K. O’DriscollPerson: O’HareEvent: All-Ireland semiEvent: Munster SHCEvent: MunsterEvent: U20 Munster finalEvent: All-Ireland quarterEvent: All-IrelandEvent: Munster finalOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: SHCOrganisation: MHCOrganisation: U20 FC
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.24 s