Kerry breeze through to semis with emphatic win over Tipperary

The Kerry minor footballers breezed into the semi-finals of the Munster championship with this emphatic victory over Tipperary.

Kerry breeze through to semis with emphatic win over Tipperary

By Eoghan Cormican, Semple Stadium

Kerry 1-15 Tipperary 0-4

The Kerry minor footballers breezed into the semi-finals of the Munster championship with this emphatic victory over Tipperary.

The winners limited the hosts to one second-half point and it was game over when Tipperary suffered a double-blow on 41 minutes; Kevin Hayes, having conceded a penalty when fouling Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaoích, was sent off having received a black card to go with his earlier yellow. Paul Walsh nailed the resulting spot kick to send Kerry into a 1-10 to 0-3 unassailable lead.

Captain Paul O’Shea, along with subs Dylan Geaney and Sean Quilter, closed out the win with a succession of points.

The visitors led 0-7 to 0-3 at the break and should have been further in front, with Tipperary goalkeeper Callan Scully producing two fine saves to deny Patrick D’Arcy and Jack Kennelly. Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaoích had a third goal chance but blasted over from close range.

Tipperary had only one scorer in the first-half, Christy English, the Ballyporeen youngster kicking Tipperary’s one and only point from play in the first-half seven minutes in.

Tipperary play Limerick in a playoff next Wednesday, last chance saloon for both sides.

Scorers for Kerry: P Walsh (1-3, 1-0 pen, 0-3 frees); R Ó Beaglaoích (0-5, 0-4 frees); D Geaney (0-2 frees); P O’Shea, K Falvey, P D’Arcy, S Quilter (0-1 ‘45) J Kennelly (0-1 each).

Scorers for Tipperary: C English (0-3, 0-2 frees); C Whelan (0-1).

Kerry: M Kelliher (Glenflesk); C Flannery (Dingle), C Moriarty (Annascaul), O Fitzgerald (Gneeveguilla); K O’Donoghue (Legion), D McCarthy (Kenmare), D Murphy (Rathmore); P O’Shea (Kilcummin), D Lyne (Legion); D Rahilly (Rathmore), P D’Arcy (Glenflesk), K Falvey (Annascaul); J Kennelly (Ballydonoghue), P Walsh (Brosna), R Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht).

Subs: D Dineen (Rathmore) for Kennelly (45 mins); J O’Connor (Beaufort) for D’Arcy (47); D Mangan (Laune Rangers) for O’Donoghue (50); S Quilter (Austin Stacks) for Lyne (54); D Geaney (Dingle) for Ó Beaglaoích (56); J McCarthy (Kenmare) for Falvey (60).

Tipperary: C Scully (Nenagh Éire Óg); T McDonagh (Cahir), S Lowe (Moyne-Templetuohy), C McDonagh (Cahir); M O’Meara (Grangemockler-Ballyneale), K Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris), J Ryan (Arravale Rovers); B Murphy (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), K Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane); D Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), E Daly (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), M Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris); A Flannery (Galtee Rovers), K Shelly (Moycarkey-Borris), C English (Ballyporeen).

Subs: D Farrelly (Clerihan) for Flannery (HT); G Meagher (Inane Rovers) for T McDonagh (38); C Whelan (Mullinaone) for Murphy (44); J O’Sullivan (Galtee Rovers) for J Ryan (49); R Byron (Galtee Rovers) for Daly (58).

Referee: D O’Callaghan (Limerick).

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: semple stadiumperson: eoghan cormicanperson: kevin hayesperson: ruaidhri ó beaglaoichperson: paul walshperson: paul o’sheaperson: dylan geaneyperson: sean quilterperson: callan scullyperson: patrick d’arcyperson: jack kennellyperson: christyperson: r ó beaglaoichperson: d geaneyperson: p o’sheaperson: k falveyperson: p d’arcyperson: s quilterperson: j kennellyperson: c whelanperson: m kelliherperson: c flanneryperson: c moriartyperson: annascaulperson: o fitzgeraldperson: k o’donoghueperson: d mccarthyperson: kenmareperson: d murphyperson: rathmoreperson: kilcumminperson: d lyneperson: d rahillyperson: pperson: d’arcyperson: glenfleskperson: ballydonoghueperson: p walshperson: brosnaperson: d dineenperson: kennellyperson: j o’connorperson: d manganperson: austin stacksperson: lyneperson: ó beaglaoichperson: j mccarthyperson: c scullyperson: t mcdonaghperson: cahirperson: s loweperson: moyne-templetuohyperson: c mcdonaghperson: m o’mearaperson: k hayesperson: borrisperson: j ryanperson: b murphyperson: kilcashperson: k ryanperson: d ryanperson: e dalyperson: m hackettperson: -borrisperson: a flanneryperson: k shellyperson: moycarkey-borrisperson: d farrellyperson: clerihanperson: flanneryperson: g meagherperson: mullinaoneperson: murphyperson: j o’sullivanperson: r byronperson: dalyperson: d o’callaghanevent: munster championshiporganisation: kerryorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: limerickorganisation: dingleorganisation: beaufortorganisation: laune rangersorganisation: kenmareorganisation: falveyorganisation: nenagh éireorganisation: grangemocklerorganisation: arravale roversorganisation: kilsheelanorganisation: upperchurchorganisation: drombaneorganisation: knockavillaorganisation: donaskeigh kickhamsorganisation: galtee roversorganisation: ballyporeenorganisation: inane rovers
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up