O’Dwyer steers CIT to Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final

Eight points from John O’Dwyer helped last year’s beaten finalists Cork IT into the semi-finals of this year’s Fitzgibbon Cup as they saw off NUI Galway this afternoon.

O’Dwyer steers CIT to Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final

By @Denis_Hurley

Cork IT 0-19 NUI Galway 0-10

Eight points from John O’Dwyer helped last year’s beaten finalists Cork IT into the semi-finals of this year’s Fitzgibbon Cup as they saw off NUI Galway this afternoon.

Pat Mulcahy’s side never trailed, but it wasn’t until the final quarter that they fully pulled clear of their opponents, scoring five of the game’s final six points.

CIT pushed into a 0-6 to 0-1 lead inside 11 minutes, with O’Dwyer and Daire Lordan on target, but NUIG rallied through Bobby Duggan (two), Niall O’Brien and Ger Hennelly to come to within a point.

By half-time, CIT led by 0-10 to 0-6 at half-time though and O’Dwyer, Noel McNamara and sub Patrick White all scored as they ensured that the visitors were kept at arm’s length early in the second half.

NUIG never looked like getting the goal required to make a game of it and CIT finished well to set up a semi-final against Mary Immaculate College or Dublin IT.

Scorers for Cork IT: J O’Dwyer 0-8 (0-4 frees), J Cronin 0-3, C Hammersley, K Kavanagh, D Lordan 0-2 each, N McNamara, P White 0-1 each.

Scorers for NUI Galway: B Duggan 0-5 (0-1 free, 0-1 65), C Mannion 0-2 (0-1 free), N O’Brien, G Hennelly, S Ward 0-1 ward.

CORK IT (Cork clubs unless stated): G Minihane (Courcey Rovers); S Murphy (Blackrock), A Dennehy (Charleville), T Lawrence (Brian Dillons); J Herlihy (Newtownshandrum), M Ellis (Millstreet), C Buckley (Na Piarsaigh); C Hammersley (Clounoulty-Rossmore, Tipperary), W Murphy (Meelin); D Lordan (Courcey Rovers), J Cronin (Lisgoold), A Walsh (Kanturk); J O’Dwyer (Killenaule, Tipperary), N McNamara (Kilworth), K Kavanagh (Carrigaline).

Subs: P White (Midleton) for Lordan (37), J Cashman (Lisgoold) for Walsh (57), M Russell (Aghada) for W Murphy (57).

NUI GALWAY (Galway clubs unless stated): J Griffey (Clarecastle, Clare); J Hanbury (Rahoon/Newcastle), R Lane (Ballindeereen), C Diviney (Ardrahan); S Cooney (St Thomas), C Cleary (Kilmaley, Clare), G Fennelly (Ballingarry, Tipperary); S Hynes (Craughwell), G Hennelly (Ardrahan); K Ryan (Ballindeereen), C Mannion (Ahascragh), N O’Brien (Castletown, Westmeath); S Ward (Clarecastle, Clare), B Duggan (Clarecastle, Clare), B O’Connor (Croagh, Limerick).

Subs: C Hardiman (Athenry) for Cooney (21, injured), S Dooley (Borrisokane, Tipperary) for Diviney (58).

Referee: B Gavin (Offaly).

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: galwayplace: tipperaryplace: limerickperson: o’dwyerperson: john o’dwyerperson: @denis_hurleyperson: pat mulcahyperson: daire lordanperson: bobby dugganperson: niall o’brienperson: ger hennellyperson: noel mcnamaraperson: patrick whiteperson: j o’dwyerperson: j croninperson: k kavanaghperson: n mcnamaraperson: p whiteperson: n o’brienperson: g hennellyperson: g minihaneperson: s murphyperson: a dennehyperson: t lawrenceperson: brian dillonsperson: j herlihyperson: m ellisperson: c buckleyperson: c hammersleyperson: w murphyperson: meelinperson: d lordanperson: a walshperson: j cashmanperson: walshperson: m russellperson: j griffeyperson: j hanburyperson: r laneperson: c divineyperson: ardrahanperson: s cooneyperson: c clearyperson: g fennellyperson: s hynesperson: k ryanperson: c mannionperson: s wardperson: b dugganperson: b o’connorperson: c hardimanperson: cooneyperson: s dooleyperson: b gavinevent: fitzgibbon cuporganisation: citorganisation: cork itorganisation: nui galwayorganisation: corkorganisation: nuigorganisation: mary immaculate collegeorganisation: dublin itorganisation: courcey roversorganisation: blackrockorganisation: charlevilleorganisation: newtownshandrumorganisation: millstreetorganisation: na piarsaighorganisation: clounoultyorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: lisgooldorganisation: kanturkorganisation: killenauleorganisation: kilworthorganisation: carrigalineorganisation: midletonorganisation: rahoonorganisation: newcastleorganisation: ballindeereenorganisation: st thomasorganisation: kilmaleyorganisation: clareorganisation: ballingarryorganisation: craughwellorganisation: ahascraghorganisation: castletownorganisation: clarecastleorganisation: croaghorganisation: athenryorganisation: offaly
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up