UCC vanquish IT Sligo to reach Sigerson Cup semi-final

UCC 0-13 IT Sligo 0-8

UCC vanquish IT Sligo to reach Sigerson Cup semi-final

UCC 0-13 IT Sligo 0-8

By Eoghan Cormican

UCC were rarely troubled in advancing to the penultimate round of the Sigerson Cup, Billy Morgan’s charges coasting through this quarter-final contest.

Morgan was less than pleased with the efforts of the home outfit, but, in truth, UCC were asked very few questions by the visitors. Pleasing for the manager was that progression was achieved without the services of the injured Paul Geaney (hip), Ian Maguire (back) and the club-tied Fergal McNamara.

Martin McHugh’s charges travelled south minus Ryan and Mark McHugh, the pair having flown out to Dubai earlier this week as part of the Donegal team holiday, and despite a gallant opening quarter in which they eked out a 0-4 to 0-3 advantage, IT Sligo would add to their tally on only four occasions in the remaining 45 minutes.

David Harrington (0-2), Eanna Ó Conchuir and Conor Cox (free) split the posts in quick succession to edge UCC 0-7 to 0-4 clear by the interval.

Favoured by the elements at the changes of ends, Morgan’s troops wasted little time in moving out of sight - Harrington, Cox (free) and a superb David Culhane kick opening up a double-scores advantage (0-10 to 0-5).

James Shaughnessy and Daniel McKenna, easily IT Sligo’s strongest performers over the hour, closed the deficit from the placed ball. It would prove brief respite.

Alan O’Donovan, Conor Cox and substitute Alan O’Donovan nailed the target coming down the home stretch to complete a most comfortable days work at the office.

Scorers for UCC: C Cox (0-5, 0-4 frees); D Harrington (0-3); L Connolly (0-2, 0-1 free); D Culhane, E Ó Conchuir, A O’Donovan (0-1 each).

Scorers for IT Sligo: J Shaughnessy (0-4, 0-2 frees); D McKenna (0-3, 0-2 frees); B Gallagher (0-1).

UCC: M Martin (Nemo Rangers); D Culhane (Ballylongford), J McGuire (Listowel Emmets), P O’Connor (Legion); C Dorman (Bishopstown), B O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCathraigh), T Clancy (Fermoy); S Kiely (Ballincollig), G O’Sullivan (Listry); S Keane (Legion), L Connolly (Legion), E Ó Conchuir (An Gaeltacht); T Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds), C Cox (Listowel Emmets), D Harrington (Ardrigole).

Subs: A O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers) for Kiely (51 mins), R Murphy (Beaufort) for Ó Conchuir (51).

IT Sligo: A McCallig (Mayo); S Doak (Donegal), E Flanagan (Sligo), C McConnon (Sligo); M McWeeney (Leitrim), R Gorman (Westmeath), C Mulryan (Galway); B Gallagher (Mayo), S McManus (Sligo); E Doherty (Sligo), N Welsh (Cavan), M Foody (Mayo); J Shaughnessy (Mayo), D McKenna (Monaghan), S Coen (Sligo).

Subs: S Henry (Mayo) for Coen (HT), R Connolly (Sligo) for Welsh (48 mins), C Clinton (Leitrim) for Shaughnessy (57).

Referee: P O’Sullivan (Kerry).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd