Late points see Sligo through

Sligo 0-12 Limerick 0-10

Late points see Sligo through

Sligo 0-12 Limerick 0-10

After a tough evening in front of goal, Sligo were mighty relieved to clinch a two-point win over Limerick and a spot in the All-Ireland Football Championship last 12.

For the second week in a row, substitute Stephen Coen helped Sligo to the win as his brace of points late on meant the Yeats men were not robbed at the death by John Brudair's outfit.

Limerick were second best throughout, but still could have snatched the win in the dying action.

Points from Eoin Hanrahan and Micheal Brosnan had levelled matters six minutes from time only for Coen and Shane McManus to kick late points.

But only a fingertip intervention from Sligo keeper Aidan Devanaey stopped Ian Ryan laying on a certain Limerick goal as Sligo held on to set up a clash with either Cork or Mayo in the next round.

A poor first half ended in a 0-6 each stalemate two late Ian Ryan scores denied Sligo a deserved half-time cushion.

Prior to that the Yeats men finished the half well as Adrian Marren and Mark Breheny finally found their range with good points in a strong Sligo spell between the 23rd and 32nd minutes.

But a poor third quarter when Marren's 36th minute free was the only score was followed by a pulsating final 15 minutes, as Sligo pulled clear thanks to efforts from Coen and Marren.

But a determined Limerick still managed to level the game with four minutes remaining, only for Coen and McManus to work their magic and send Sligo into Round 4A.


Sligo: A Marren 0-3 (3f), S Coen 0-2, M Breheny 0-2 (1f), P Hughes 0-1, K Cawley 0-1, A Devaney 0-1 (1'45), J Kilcullen 0-1, S McManus 0-1.

Limerick: I Ryan 0-3 (2f), B Scanlon 0-2 (1'45, 1f), G Collins 0-2, K Phair 0-1, M Brosnan 0-1, E Hanrahan 0-1 (1f).

Sligo: A Devaney; R Donovan, J Martyn, N Ewing; C Harrison, B Egan, K Cawley; K McDonnell, A McIntyre; B Curran, J Hynes, P Hughes; M Breheny, A Marren, D Kelly.

Subs: J Kilcullen for Egan (h-t), S Coen for Hynes (54), L Bree for McDonnell (68), S McManus for Curran (69).

Limerick: B Scanlon; S O’Dea, J McCarthy, M O’Riordan; I Corbett, P Browne, P Ranahan; S Buckley, J Galvin; D Tracey, G Collins, G Hegarty; D Neville, K Phair, I Ryan.

Subs: E Hanrahan for Phair (40), M Brosnan for Hegarty (48), J Mullane for Neville (51).

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Longford).

Attendance: 2,695

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up