Plucky Leitrim retain FBD League

Leitrim 2-05 Roscommon 1-07

Plucky Leitrim retain FBD League

Leitrim 2-05 Roscommon 1-07

Goals from Aaron Hickey and John Mulligan helped Leitrim to back-to-back Connacht FBD League Senior Football titles in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Leitrim never trailed in the game, as they created history by retaining the title for the first time, with the hosts scoring a goal in either half on the way to this slender one-point win.

Leitrim captain Emlyn Mulligan led by example with the opening score of the afternoon from a pointed free.

When Hickey hit the ball to the Roscommon net soon after, following an initial save by Darren O'Malley, the hosts led by 1-1 to 0-0.

Niall Daly opened the visitors account with a point, with Roscommon working hard for scores as Conor Daly and Niall Carty added to their tally.

Leitrim finished strongest before the break, with a Wayne McKeon point helping the hosts to a 1-3 to 0-3 interval lead.

Roscommon cut the deficit to a point on the restart following scores from Diarmuid and Ciaran Murtagh.

Scores from Fergal Clancy and Ray Cox handed Leitrim a 1-5 to 0-6 lead, with Diarmuid Murtagh replying with a point for Roscommon.

Cox made way for John Mulligan to enter the game and the Mohill clubman quickly responded as he netted Leitrim's second goal.

Despite Leitrim not scoring for the remainder of the game, and Roscommon registering a goal from Niall Daly, along with a Cathal Cregg point, Leitrim had done enough to hold out for victory.

After the game Emlyn Mulligan lifted the trophy for the second year in succession.

LEITRIM: C McCrann; B Prior, P Maguire, D Wrynn; W McKeon (0-2), P Brennan, G Reynolds; A Hickey (1-0), D Moran; K Conlan, R Lowe, F Clancy (0-1); E Mulligan (0-1, 1f), T Beirne, R Cox (0-1). Subs: D Beck for Brennan (23-Black); J Glancy for Lowe (36); G Hickey for Moran (44); J Mulligan (1-0) for Cox (51); E Mahon for Hickey (59).

ROSCOMMON: D O’Malley; N Collins, N Carty (0-1), R Stack; S McDermott, N Daly (1-1), C Daly (0-1); C Shine, K Higgins; C Devaney, C Burns, M Nally; S Kilbride, C Cregg (0-1, 1f), C Murtagh (0-1). Subs: M Finneran for Burns (23); D Keane for Devaney (30); D Murtagh (0-2) for Kilbride (30); D O’Gara for Nally (46); E Smith for Higgins (57).

REFEREE: Michael Duffy (Sligo).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.