Joy for Na Piarsaigh, Castlebar, Portlaoise and St. Vincent's

Limerick's Na Piarsaigh and Castlebar Mitchels took AIB Munster Hurling and Connacht Football Senior provincial titles respectively, while Portlaoise and St. Vincent's advanced to the Leinster Club SFC Final today.

Joy for Na Piarsaigh, Castlebar, Portlaoise and St. Vincent's

Limerick's Na Piarsaigh and Castlebar Mitchels took AIB Munster Hurling and Connacht Football Senior provincial titles respectively, while Portlaoise and St. Vincent's advanced to the Leinster Club SFC Final today.

At Cusack Park, Ennis, Na Piarsaigh maintained their 100% record in Munster Senior Club Championship as they claimed their second title in three years, following a comprehensive 4-14 to 0-8 win over Sixmilebridge.

The Limerick champions took honours in their maiden provincial campaign in 2011, and renewed their acquaintances with the O'Neill Cup this afternoon.

Some 3,689 spectators watched on as Na Piarsaigh got off to the perfect start, with Kevin Downes firing the opening goal inside the first minute.

Indeed they moved 1-5 to 0-1 ahead by the 20th minute, with Shane Dowling, Adrian Breen, David Dempsey and Pat Gleeson on target.

Sixmilebridge worked their way back into contention before the interval with Niall Gilligan and Shane Golden adding points, but Na Piarsaigh held a 1-8 to 0-5 half-time lead.

A hat-trick of second-half goals firmly killed off the Sixmilebridge challenge on the restart, with Kevin Ryan, Adrian Breen and substitute David Sheppard all raising green flags in the second half.

Castlebar Mitchels needed extra-time before disposing of reigning All-Ireland Club SFC champions St Brigid's of Roscommon as they claimed Connacht Senior provincial honours following a 3-13 to 2-12 win at Dr. Hyde Park.

The Mayo club delivered their first provincial title since 1993 in a game full of drama, which saw four red cards, and comeback after comeback, as Brigid's weren't going to let their provincial and All-Ireland crowns slip easily.

Brigid's led by 1-2 to 0-1 early on with Senan Kilbride netting the opening goal.

Castlebar came back into contention following a Danny Kirby three-pointer, but Brigids took a 1-6 to 1-1 interval lead, with Frankie Dolan and Padraig Kelly adding scores for the Roscommon side before the break.

Mitchels outscored their opponents by 2-5 to 0-1 inside 13 minutes of the restart, despite being reduced to 14-men following the dismissal of Barry Moran.

Goals from Neil Douglas and Richie Feeney helped Mitchels to a 3-6 to 1-7 lead, but Brigid's weren't finished yet.

A 53rd minute Richie Blaine goal was key in a spell which saw Brigid's score 1-4 unanswered, to take a late two-point lead.

But Mitchels dug deep as a brace of Douglas points, including a free in the fourth minute of injury-time, ensured extra-time, with Brigid's dealt a late blow following the dismissal of Ian Kilbride.

Both teams were back to a full complement of players for extra-time, but Brigid's lost Darragh Donnelly early in the first period after a goalmouth scramble.

Mitchels took the lead following a Tom King score, but this was cancelled out with a Kilbride point.

In the second period, Mitchels took control as points from Cian Costello, James Durcan and Kirby steered them to victory with Brigid's woes compounded late on with the dismissal of goalscorer Blaine.

For the second year in a row, the Leinster Club SFC Final will be a Dublin-Laois affair after St Vincent's and Portlaoise booked their passage to the decider this afternoon.

At Parnell Park, Tomás Quinn scored 1-8 for St Vincent's as they claimed a 1-14 to 1-10 win over Meath champions Summerhill.

Despite Vincent's four-point interval advantage, it was Summerhill who made a bright start, moving 0-4 to 0-1 early on with Brian Ennis, David Larkin and Conor Gillespie on target.

But Summerhill's early good work was undone, as Vincent's took control before the break.

Quinn fired 1-3 in the opening half, including a 24th minute goal as Vincent's led by 1-7 to 0-6 at the interval.

Vins' worked hard in the second half, as a trio of Quinn points extended the gap to seven points.

Summerhill failed to give up, with a Paul Rispin goal, and points from Sean Dalton, Adrian Kenny and Gillespie helping to cut the gap to a point.

But Vincent's kept on top, as late points from Quinn, Ruairi Trainor and Eamon Fennell ensured a four-point win.

A 33rd minute Brian McCormack goal helped Leinster kingpins Portlaoise to yet another decider, following a 1-9 to 0-8 win over Moorefield at O'Moore Park.

Portlaoise trailed by 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time, having led by 0-3 to 0-0 early on following scores from McCormack, Craig Rogers and Brian Glynn.

But Portlaoise failed to score from the sixth to the 22nd minute, as Moorefield scored five points without reply - all from frees, with Ronan Sweeney and Adam Tyrrell on target.

Paul Cahillane broke Portlaoise's scoring deadlock, but a third Sweeney point handed Moorefield a two-point interval lead.

Portlaoise rocked Moorefield on the restart, with an unanswered 1-1 from McCormack inside the opening five minutes of the second half handed Portlaoise a lead they wouldn't relinquish.

The seven-time Leinster champions outscored their opponents by four points to one in the final quarter, with Moorefield's lone point from play in this game coming from substitute Keith Dwane seven and a half minutes from time.

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: cusack parkplace: ennisplace: roscommonplace: dr. hyde parkplace: parnell parkplace: o'moore parkperson: kevin downesperson: shane dowlingperson: adrian breenperson: david dempseyperson: pat gleesonperson: niall gilliganperson: shane goldenperson: na piarsaighperson: kevin ryanperson: david sheppardperson: brigidperson: senan kilbrideperson: danny kirbyperson: frankie dolanperson: padraig kellyperson: mitchelsperson: barry moranperson: neil douglasperson: richie feeneyperson: richie blaineperson: douglasperson: ian kilbrideperson: darragh donnellyperson: tom kingperson: kilbrideperson: cian costelloperson: james durcanperson: kirbyperson: blaineperson: tomás quinnperson: summerhillperson: vincentperson: brian ennisperson: david larkinperson: conor gillespieperson: quinnperson: vins'person: paul rispinperson: sean daltonperson: adrian kennyperson: gillespieperson: ruairí trainorperson: eamon fennellperson: brian mccormackevent: aib munster hurlingevent: connacht football seniorevent: leinster club sfc finalevent: connacht football senior provincialevent: munster senior club championshipevent: o'neill cupevent: irelandorganisation: na piarsaighorganisation: castlebarorganisation: portlaoiseorganisation: st. vincentorganisation: limerickorganisation: castlebar mitchelsorganisation: sixmilebridgeorganisation: all-ireland club sfcorganisation: st brigidorganisation: mayoorganisation: all-organisation: brigidsorganisation: st vincentorganisation: meathorganisation: leinsterorganisation: moorefield
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on