All today's action in the club football championship

Reigning AIB Ulster Club SFC Champions Crossmaglen Rangers bowed out following a replay defeat to Kilcoo today.

All today's action in the club football championship

Reigning AIB Ulster Club SFC Champions Crossmaglen Rangers bowed out following a replay defeat to Kilcoo today.

Elsewhere, there were football wins for St Brigids and Castlebar Mitchels in Connacht; while St. Vincent's, Summerhill and Moorefield advanced in Leinster.

Extra-time was required as Kilcoo and Crossmaglen were eventually separated, following this afternoon's Ulster SFC replay at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh, as Kilcoo claimed a 3-10 to 1-8 win.

[comment]Crossmaglen's Johnny Hanratty with Kilcoo's Paul Greenan in the AIB Ulster GAA Football Senior Club Championship Quarter-Final Replay at the Athletic Grounds in Co. Armagh. Pic: INPHO/Presseye/Jonathan Porter.[/comment]

Before 9,670 spectators the Down champions dug deep in extra-time as goals from Ryan Johnston and Paul Devlin, coupled with the dismissal of Stephen Kernan for Rangers, helped Kilcoo to a semi-final date with Ballinderry Shamrocks next Sunday.

Kilcoo led by 0-5 to 0-2 at half-time in normal time, and although they lost Daryl Branigan through a red card they continued to stay in front, with Devlin netting a penalty goal.

However, Crossmaglen responded with a Tony Kernan goal and a Martin Ahern point forcing extra-time.

Rangers couldn't keep going in extra-time, as Kilcoo powered their way to a semi-final date.

Reigning All-Ireland Club SFC Champions St Brigid's had a comfortable 22-point win over Leitrim's St Mary's at Carrick on Shannon, with a 5-15 to 1-5 victory this afternoon.

The Kiltoom outfit were never troubled as they stormed to victory, holding a 1-10 to 0-1 interval lead with Frankie Dolan netting an eighth minute goal.

Senan Kilbride excelled for the eventual winners, who added further goals from Padraig Kelly, Karol Mannion, Richir Blaine and David O'Connor on the restart.

Newly crowned Mayo champions Castlebar Mitchels upset the odds to claim a 2-8 to 1-10 win over former All-Ireland Club Champions Corofin this afternoon.

Goals from Neil Lydon and Richie Feeney in the opening half helped Mitchels to a 2-4 to 1-5 interval lead, with Gary Sice netting Corofin's goal.

In Leinster, newly crowned Dublin Champions St Vincent's booked their place in the Leinster Club semi-finals, following an 0-11 to 0-9 quarter-final win over St. Lomans, Mullingar at Cusack Park.

Vincent's were reduced to 14 men after just six minutes, following the controversial dismissal of their captain Ger Brennan on a straight red card, after an off-the-ball incident with Loman's forward Kelvin Reilly.

Tommy Conroy's side led by 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time with top-scorer Tomás Quinn scoring three of his seven points in the opening half.

Scores were at a premium in the third quarter, as both sides struggled in front of the posts with Vincents registering three wides during this spell, while their Westmeath counterparts had two.

Loman's pushed 0-7 to 0-6 ahead by the 45th minute, with John Heslin impressive.

A second Shane Dempsey point handing Loman's the lead after a superb save by Stephen Gallagher from a Dorney goal shot at the opposite end.

St Vincent's eventually broke their second-half scoring deadlock in the 48th minute following a Quinn point, and although Loman's regained the lead following a second Reilly point, Quinn ensured a grandstand finish as he tied the game for the sixth time.

Quinn continued to impress late on, with back-to-back points ensuring a late 0-10 to 0-8 lead.

Although Heslin bagged his fourth point to cut the gap to the minimum, Vincent's held on for victory, with Ruairi Treanor claiming a late insurance score.

Vincent's will face Summerhill in the semi-final, after the Meath outfit overcame Louth's Newtown Blues by 2-13 to 1-13 in Drogheda.

A Brian Kermode goal ensured Blues got off to the perfect start, but a 20th minute Adrian Kenny goal edged Summerhill ahead.

However, Newtown Blues reclaimed the lead at the interval as points from Colm Judge and Robert Carr edged them three points clear at the interval.

A trio of Michael Byrne points edged Summerhill ahead, with a late Paul Rispin goal sealing the issue.

Moorefield will face either Portlaoise and Longford Slashers in the semi-final, following a win over Wexford's St Martin's by 2-13 to 0-4 at Wexford Park.

Martin's led by 0-3 to 0-2 early on, but could only manage one point in the closing 42 minutes.

A Patrick Murray goal helped Moorefield to a 1-5 to 0-3 interval lead, with David Whyte bagging the second goal for the Kildare champions inside 10 minutes of the restart.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHeathrowPlace: ConnachtPlace: ArmaghPlace: Athletic GroundsPlace: Co. ArmaghPlace: CarrickPlace: ShannonPlace: Tuam Stadium, Co. GalwayPlace: Cusack ParkPlace: Cusack Park, Mullingar, Co. WestmeathPlace: WestmeathPlace: DroghedaPerson: Johnny HanrattyPerson: Paul GreenanPerson: PresseyePerson: Jonathan PorterPerson: Ryan JohnstonPerson: Paul DevlinPerson: Stephen KernanPerson: KilcooPerson: Daryl BraniganPerson: DevlinPerson: CrossmaglenPerson: Tony KernanPerson: Martin AhernPerson: Adrian GleesonPerson: Ronan KennedyPerson: Ramsey CardyPerson: KiltoomPerson: Frankie DolanPerson: Senan KilbridePerson: Padraig KellyPerson: Karol MannionPerson: Richir BlainePerson: David O'ConnorPerson: CorofinPerson: Barry MoranPerson: David MaherPerson: Neil LydonPerson: Richie FeeneyPerson: MitchelsPerson: Gary SicePerson: StPerson: TrainorPerson: Steven GilmorePerson: Jason O'ToolePerson: Pat MurphyPerson: VincentPerson: Ger BrennanPerson: LomanPerson: Kelvin ReillyPerson: Tommy ConroyPerson: Tomás QuinnPerson: VincentsPerson: John HeslinPerson: Shane DempseyPerson: Stephen GallagherPerson: DorneyPerson: QuinnPerson: ReillyPerson: HeslinPerson: Ruairi TreanorPerson: SummerhillEvent: Club SFCEvent: Ulster Club SFC ChampionsEvent: AIB Ulster GAA Football Senior Club Championship Quarter-FinalEvent: AIB Connacht Senior Club Football ChampionshipEvent: AIB Leinster Senior Club Football ChampionshipOrganisation: AIB UlsterOrganisation: Crossmaglen RangersOrganisation: KilcooOrganisation: AIBOrganisation: St BrigidsOrganisation: Castlebar MitchelsOrganisation: St. VincentOrganisation: SummerhillOrganisation: MoorefieldOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: CrossmaglenOrganisation: InphoOrganisation: DownOrganisation: RangersOrganisation: Ballinderry ShamrocksOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: St BrigidOrganisation: LeitrimOrganisation: St Mary'sOrganisation: St MaryOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: CorofinOrganisation: Leinster ClubOrganisation: St. LomansOrganisation: St VincentOrganisation: LouthOrganisation: Newtown Blues
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd