Clare dominate All star nominee list

The All star nominee list has been unveiled and it is no surprise that Davy Fitzgerald's side have been rewarded for their astonishing 2013 performance.

Clare dominate All star nominee list

[comment]Tony Kelly. Pic: Sportsfile.[/comment]

The All star nominee list has been unveiled and it is no surprise that Davy Fitzgerald's side have been rewarded for their astonishing 2013 performance.

After finally breaking the stranglehold of Kilkenny and Tipperary, the Banner have 13 players nominated.

Tony Kelly and Pádraic Collins of Clare and Cork's Anthony Nash have all been nominated for player of the year.

Kelly and Collins have also been nominated for young player along with David McInerney.

Beaten finanlists Cork have nine nominations while Dublin have matched that figure following their breakthrough Leinster success this summer.

Seven of Limerick's Munster championship winning side are in the hunt for an all star.

Last year's All-Ireland champions Kilkenny have just four nominations.

But it a real changing of the guard as only 13 of last year's nominees have made the cut for 2013's 45-strong list. Notably, two of hurling's strongest counties - Tipperary and Galway - are completely absent from this season's nominations.

There are a few players who can feel hard done by, with Wexford's Jack Guiney - the Championship's fourth top scorer - missing out. Guiney scored 2-40 in five outings this summer and hit 1-8 against both Dublin and Clare.

Tipperary's Michael Cahill is another consistent player to be omitted, while Declan Hannon, Limerick's leading Championship scorer, Clare defender Patrick O'Connor and Waterford's Maurice Shanahan would have been close to making the final list.

The final All-Stars team selection will be made on Wednesday, November 6 before the final 15 players are presented with their awards two days later at the All-Star banquet at Croke Park.


Anthony Nash (Cork)

Patrick Kelly (Clare)

Gary Maguire (Dublin)


David McInerney (Clare)

Domhnall O'Donovan (Clare)

Richie McCarthy (Limerick)

Tom Condon (Limerick)

Peter Kelly (Dublin)

Shane O'Neill (Cork)

Conor O'Sullivan (Cork)

Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)

Tomás Waters (Wexford)


Brendan Bugler (Clare)

Patrick Donnellan (Clare)

Liam Rushe (Dublin)

Michael Carton (Dublin)

Brian Murphy (Cork)

Wayne McNamara (Limerick)

Gavin O'Mahony (Limerick)

Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny)

Michael Walsh (Waterford)


Conor Ryan (Clare)

Colm Galvin (Clare)

Joey Boland (Dublin)

Paul Browne (Limerick)

Daniel Kearney (Cork)

Kevin Moran (Waterford)

Half Forwards

Tony Kelly (Clare)

John Conlon (Clare)

Colin Ryan (Clare)

Séamus Harnedy (Cork)

Patrick Cronin (Cork)

Conal Keaney (Dublin)

Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin)

James Ryan (Limerick)

Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)


Pádraic Collins (Clare)

Conor McGrath (Clare)

Shane O'Donnell (Clare)

Patrick Horgan (Cork)

Conor Lehane (Cork)

Paul Ryan (Dublin)

David O'Callaghan (Dublin)

Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick)

Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

Nominees for Player of Year

1. Tony Kelly (Clare)

2. Anthony Nash (Cork)

3. Pádraic Collins (Clare)

Nominees for Young Player of the Year

1. Tony Kelly (Clare)

2. David McInerney (Clare)

3. Padraic Collins (Clare)

County-by-County Breakdown

Clare - 13

Cork - 9

Dublin - 9

Limerick - 7

Kilkenny - 4

Waterford - 2

Wexford - 1

More in this section

courtsgaaall-ireland final newsplace: kilkennyplace: tipperaryplace: clareplace: galwayplace: croke parkplace: countyperson: davy fitzgeraldperson: tony kellyperson: pádraiccollinsclarehurling_large.jpgpádraic collinsperson: padraic collinsperson: anthony nashperson: kellyperson: collinsperson: david mcinerneyperson: davidmcinerneyclarehurling_large.jpgdavid mcinerneyperson: anthonynashcorkhurling_large.jpganthony nashperson: jack guineyperson: guineyperson: michael cahillperson: declan hannonperson: patrick o'connorperson: maurice shanahanperson: patrick kellyperson: gary maguireperson: domhnall o'donovanperson: richie mccarthyperson: tom condonperson: peter kellyperson: shane o'neillperson: conor o'sullivanperson: paul murphyperson: tomas watersperson: brendan buglerperson: patrick donnellanperson: liam rusheperson: michael cartonperson: brian murphyperson: wayne mcnamaraperson: gavin o'mahonyperson: kieran joyceperson: michael walshperson: conor ryanperson: colm galvinperson: joey bolandperson: paul browneperson: daniel kearneyperson: kevin moranperson: john conlonperson: colin ryanperson: seamus harnedyperson: patrick croninperson: conal keaneyperson: danny sutcliffeperson: james ryanperson: eoin larkinperson: conor mcgrathperson: shane o'donnellperson: patrick horganperson: conor lehaneperson: paul ryanperson: david o'callaghanperson: graeme mulcahyperson: richie hoganevent: munsterorganisation: corkorganisation: dublinorganisation: leinsterorganisation: limerickorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: wexfordorganisation: clareorganisation: waterfordorganisation: fullbacks

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.