Cavan need extra time to dispatch Derry

Derry 0-20 Cavan 1-22 (after extra-time)

Cavan need extra time to dispatch Derry

Derry 0-20 Cavan 1-22 (after extra-time)

Cavan came alive in extra-time to dump Derry out of the All-Ireland SFC this afternoon to set up a fourth-round date with either London or Mayo.

A last-gasp point from Damien Reilly saw Cavan draw level at 0-18 apiece at Celtic Park, and Terry Hyland's talented side pulled clear in the additional two periods with substitute Cian Mackey's 86th-minute goal putting the result beyond doubt.

In balmy conditions, Eoin Bradley helped the Oak Leafers lead 0-3 to 0-0 early on.

But once David Givney opened Cavan's account in the eighth minute, they got the scoreboard ticking over.

Martin Dunne, Jack Brady and Ronan Flanagan all chipped in with scores as Derry fell three points behind, although the hosts did well to close the gap to 0-9 to 0-7 by half-time with James Kielt and captain Mark Lynch popping over scores.

The Breffni men remained on course for a first Championship win over Derry since the 1997 Ulster final, reopening a three-point advantage thanks to efforts from Martin Reilly and Eugene Keating.

Derry showed great resilience though, getting back level on two separate occasions with Ryan Bell, Lynch and Aaron Devlin growing in influence.

In a dramatic conclusion to normal time, substitute Emmet Bradley and reliable free-taker Lynch edged Derry ahead and within touching distance of the next round - only for Reilly to equalise and hand the momentum back to Cavan.

Hyland's well-drilled charges went on to score 1-4 in extra-time with initial points from substitutes Michael Argue and Darragh McVitty, allied to a booming free from Martin Reilly, giving them a 0-21 to 0-18 interval buffer.

Eoin Bradley blazed a goal chance over the crossbar but Derry's number was up when an Argue effort was helped over the goal-line by Mackey for the only goal of the game.

The lively Argue pointed soon after and Emmet McGuckin's late fisted score was meaningless as pre-match favourites Derry crashed out of the Championship.

CAVAN: Alan O’Mara; Tomas Corr, Rory Dunne, Killian Clarke; James McEnroe, Alan Clarke, Ronan Flanagan; Damien O’Reilly, David Givney; Cian Mackey, Jack Brady, Fergal Flanagan; Martin Reilly, Martin Dunne, Eugene Keating.

DERRY: Eoin McNicholl; Aidan McAlynn, Chrissy McKaigue, Dermot McBride; Charlie Kielt, Mark Lynch, Sean Leo McGoldrick; Patsy Bradley, Conor McAtamney; Benny Heron, James Kielt, Enda Lynn; Ryan Bell, Eoin Bradley, Emmet McGuckin.

Referee: Maurice Deegan (Laois)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up