Dubs hold fire on team selection

Dublin manager Pat Gilroy will not name his team until just before throw-in for Sunday's Bord na Móna O'Byrne Cup opener against Carlow at Dr Cullen Park.

Dublin manager Pat Gilroy will not name his team until just before throw-in for Sunday's Bord na Móna O'Byrne Cup opener against Carlow at Dr Cullen Park.

However, the All-Ireland champions have released a 24-man panel for the game which comes just a week after they beat a Blue Stars selection.

Beaten Leinster club finalists St. Brigid's supply five players to the selected Dublin panel, namely Shane Supple, Declan Lally, Sean Murray, Paddy Andrews and Barry Cahill.

Goalkeeper Supple is one of those involved for the first time, with John Small of Ballymun Kickhams, a minor with the Dubs last season, also earning a call-up.

Small's club-mates Karl Connolly and Davy Byrne are also primed to play against Carlow as is Castleknock's Rory Corcoran.

Ten players are college-tied including Ballyboden St Enda's player Darragh Nelson and Ballinteer St John's clubman Nick Devereaux, who are both involved with DIT in their match against reigning champions Kildare at St Conleth's Park.

Colm Murphy and Kilmacud Crokes duo Craig Dias and Rory O'Carroll are involved with the UCD squad to face Laois, while Philip McMahon, James McCarthy, Paul Flynn and Eoghan O'Gara are also college-tied.

DUBLIN Squad (O'Byrne Cup v Carlow): Michael Savage (St Vincent’s), Shane Supple (St Brigid’s), Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes), Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala), Paul Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh), Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens), Karl Connolly (Ballymun Kickhams), Ger Brennan (St Vincent’s), John Small (Ballymun Kickhams), Declan Lally (St Brigid’s), Seán Murray (St Brigid’s), Davy Byrne (Ballymun Kickhams), Michael Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Eamon Fennell (St Vincent’s), Ross McConnell (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh), Rory Corcoran (Castleknock), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps) Tomás Quinn (St Vincent’s), Alan Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh), Blaine Kelly (St Mary’s, Saggart), Miceál McCarthy (St Sylvester’s), Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s), Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s), Barry Cahill (St Brigid’s).

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: dr cullen parkplace: st conleth's parkperson: pat gilroyperson: st. brigidperson: shane suppleperson: declan lallyperson: sean murrayperson: paddy andrewsperson: barry cahillperson: suppleperson: john smallperson: smallperson: karl connollyperson: davy byrneperson: rory corcoranperson: endaperson: darragh nelsonperson: ballinteer stperson: nick devereauxperson: colm murphyperson: craig diasperson: rory o'carrollperson: philip mcmahonperson: james mccarthyperson: paul flynnperson: eoghan o'garaperson: michael savageperson: cian o’sullivanperson: michael fitzsimonsperson: paul broganperson: eoghan ruadhperson: darren dalyperson: ger brennanperson: michael darragh macauleyperson: eamon fennellperson: ross mcconnellperson: bryan cullenperson: tomás quinnperson: alan broganperson: blaine kellyperson: miceál mccarthyperson: diarmuid connollyevent: bord na mona o'byrne cuporganisation: dubsorganisation: dublinorganisation: carloworganisation: all-irelandorganisation: leinsterorganisation: ballymun kickhamsorganisation: castleknockorganisation: johnorganisation: ditorganisation: kildareorganisation: kilmacud crokesorganisation: ucdorganisation: laoisorganisation: o'byrne cuporganisation: st vincent’sorganisation: st brigid’sorganisation: cualaorganisation: st oliverorganisation: ’sorganisation: fingal ravensorganisation: ballyboden st enda’sorganisation: st oliver plunkett’sorganisation: skerries harpsorganisation: st mary’s, saggartorganisation: st sylvester’s

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.