Adare swat Na Piarsaigh aside to claim Limerick title

Adare 1-17 Na Piarsaigh 0-3

Adare 1-17 Na Piarsaigh 0-3

Former All-Star Mark Foley won his fifth Limerick Senior Hurling Championship, starring in today's county final as Adare won the title for the third year in succession.

It is the first time that Adare have secured a three in-a-row and the landslide 1-17 to 0-3 victory over Na Piarsaigh marked their fifth title win of the decade.

None of the others came as easily as this one as Na Piarsaigh played like a team happy to have reached their first every final.

The losers failed to score from play until midway through the second half at the Gaelic Grounds, by which stage the game was well and truly out of their reach.

Na Piarsaigh managed only a single point in the first half, and that was from a fifth minute free by Kevin Downes.

Declan Hannon and Brian Foley notched points to put Adare into a lead they never lost after 11 minutes.

And the game was as good as over after a quarter-of-an-hour when a powerful clearance by Foley found Diarmuid Sexton unmarked and he slammed in a goal that signalled the intent of his side.

Adare went on to build up a 1-7 to 0-1 half-time lead, and such was their dominance they could afford to hit seven wides.

They also had a penalty appeal waved away, while Na Piarsaigh squandered two great goal scoring chances in the final minute of the half.

The second period was just as one-sided as the Adare defence held firm, goalkeeper Timmy Houlihan making two fine saves as Na piarsaigh went in search of goals rather than points.

Scorers -

Adare: D Sexton 1-3, D Sheehan 0-4, D Hannon 0-3 (0-1f), M Foley 0-2 (0-2f), B Foley, L Costello, W McNamara, J Fitzgibbon, A O'Connell 0-1 each

Na Piarsaigh: K Downes 0-3 (0-2f)

Adare: T Houlihan; S O'Connell, JP Healy, S Lavin; R Kennedy, M Foley, P Keane; W McNamara, A O’Rahilly; D Hannon, B Foley, D Sexton; L Costello, A O’Connell, D Sheehan.

Subs used: C Fitzgerald for McNamara (inj), N Mulvihill for O'Connell (41 mins), M Clifford for O'Rahilly (42).

Na Piarsaigh: P Kennedy; P Guinane, B Hartnett, K Bermingham; A Hennessy, P McNamara, N O’Gorman; D Lynch, K Breen; F McNamara, D Breen, J O’Brien; K Downes, S O’Neill, K Ryan.

Subs used: C King for O'Gorman (24 mins), R Sheehan for McNamara (half-time), M Broughan for Lynch (40), J Madden for Downes (56).

Referee: Patsy Coffey (Cappamore)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.