Tyrone come back to win high quality game

Tyrone 0-16 Kildare 1-11

Tyrone 0-16 Kildare 1-11

The All-Ireland champions are through to another semi-final following a hard-fought battle against Kildare at Croke Park.

An impressive second half display did the trick for the Red Hands, after the Lilywhites led by four points at the break.

Stephen O’Neill’s return to form was a key factor in the Tyrone success.

The Clan an nGael man hit seven points, five of them from play, with Owen Mulligan hitting three in a devastating start to the second period.

John Doyle settled Kildare nerves with two early points, but Brian Dooher and Stephen O’Neill had the sides level by the 11th minute.

But the Lilywhites struck for a goal in the 14th minute.

Substitute Andrew McLoughlin sent in the long delivery from which James Kavanagh sent Ronan Sweeney in to finish low past Pascal McConnell.

Kildare maintained the momentum, hitting four points in the space of five minutes to open out a 1-6 to 0-4 lead.

Doyle, from a free, Eamon Callaghan, James Kavanagh and Alan Smith all split the posts, and the All-Ireland champions were on the back foot.

The Red Hands could never get their support game together against a Kildare side that defended with strength in numbers and broke at pace, but they did pull back scores through Tommy McGuigan and a superb Stephen O’Neill effort from a tight angle.

Doyle’s free from the sideline sent Kildare in with a 1-7 to 0-6 interval lead, but two points each from O’Neill and Owen Mulligan had Tyrone level within six minutes of the restart.

Mulligan’s third gave the Red Hands the lead on 43 minutes, but Doyle led another Kildare revival with three points to ease them back in front

Back came Tyrone, inevitably, and a couple of gems from O’Neill put them back in the driving seat, and full-back Justin McMahon sealed it with a late score.

Tyrone: P McConnell, PJ Quinn, Justin McMahon (0-1), R McMenamin, D Harte (0-1), C Gormley, P Jordan, K Hughes, S Cavanagh, B Dooher (0-2), T McGuigan (0-1, f), Joe McMahan, M Penrose (0-1), S O’Neill (0-7, 2f), O Mulligan (0-3).

Subs: B McGuigan for T McGuigan (43), Sean O’Neill for Quinn (56)

Kildare: T Corley, H McGrillen, M Foley (0-1), E Bolton, M O’Flaherty, B Flanagan, G White, D Flynn, D Earley, J Kavanagh (0-1), P O’Neill, R Sweeney (1-0), A Smith (0-1), E Callaghan (0-1), J Doyle (0-7, 5f).

Subs: A McLoughlin for Bolton (12), K Donnelly for O’Neill (52), R Kelly for Sweeney (52), K O’Neill for Flynn (61), W Heffernan for Callaghan (66)

Referee: G O Conamha (Galway).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up