Tipp squeeze through to Minor Hurling semis

Tipperary 0-20 Wexford 0-19

Tipperary 0-20 Wexford 0-19

A 76th minute point from Eanna Murray was the difference as Tipperary overcame Wexford after extra-time in today's ESB All-Ireland MHC quarter-final at Portlaoise.

Ahead by 0-07 to 0-06 at the interval, Wexford were pushed all the way by a Tipperary side that lost forward Michael O'Brien through a second yellow card on the restart.

Tipperary broke in front for the first time in 27 minutes thanks to a superb score from defender Alan Hogan, but this game was closely contested throughout.

The sides were level on four further occasions in the second half, with a point from Tipperary centre-back Brian Stapleton ensuring extra-time.

Wexford began strongly in extra-time with Jack Hobbs slotting over a point after just six seconds as the beaten Leinster finalists quickly built up a two-point advantage.

But a brace of Murray points ensured the sides were deadlocked at half-time in extra-time.

However, Tipperary proved strongest in the closing period and outscored Wexford by two points to one with top scorer Murray landing his ninth and most important point with four minutes remaining.

Scorers - Tipperary: E Murray 0-09 (0-05f, 0-01 '65'), D Maher, S Curran, T Butler 0-02 each, B Stapleton, A Hogan, A Cleere, R Gleeson, M O'Brien 0-01 each

Wexford: G Moore 0-06 (0-06f), D O'Keeffe 0-05 (0-01sl), L McGovern, A Kenny 0-02 each, J Hobbs, B Doyle, B Barron, C Goff 0-01 each.

WEXFORD: M Fanning; W Devereux, M O'Hanlon, A Nolan; B Barron, C Goff, B O'Gorman; J Gordon, B Doyle; D O'Keeffe, M O'Regan, L Og McGovern; E Whitmore, P Farrell, G Moore.

Subs used: C Clince for Devereux (33 mins), C Doyle for Whitmore (50), A Kenny for Farrell (54), J Hobbs for O'Regan (61), I Byrne for O'Keeffe (75), M Moloney for Doyle (76), P Farrell for Moore (80).

TIPPERARY: P Ryan; S Maher, L Butler, J Meagher; W Ryan, B Stapleton, A Hogan; D Maher, A Cleere; R Gleeson, S Curran, E Murray; D Collins, T Butler, M O'Brien.

Subs used: D Butler for Collins (37 mins), J Forde for Cleere (42), J Condon for T Butler (53), P Heffernan for Gleeson (59), R Gleeson as replacement for O'Brien ((red card) extra-time), A Ryan for Maher (63).

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up