O’Dwyer on song as Tipp scorch through

Tipperary 2-21 Cork 1-12

Tipperary 2-21 Cork 1-12

John O'Dwyer was top-scorer with 11 points, as a convincing Tipperary performance ensured the hosts booked an ESB Munster Minor final place against Clare.

A sizable crowd watched on as O'Dwyer was simply on fire in the first 12 minutes, and scored five of Tipperary's six opening points as the hosts claimed an early 0-06 to 0-01 lead.

Cork kept in touch thanks to the efforts of David Drake, John Dineen, Dean Brosnan, Eoin O'Sullivan and Paul Haughney.

However Tipperary led by 1-11 to 0-8 at half-time thanks to a 22nd minute David Collins goal.

Cork cut the gap to four points within six minutes of the restart thanks to a goal from skipper O'Sullivan.

But Tipperary bounced back with half-time substitute David Butler hitting their second goal from the resulting puck-out, to ensure a 2-13 to 1-09 lead.

Scorers for Tipperary: J O'Dwyer 0-11; D Collins 1-2; D Butler 1-1; D Maher, M O'Brien 0-2; W Ryan, E Murray, A Cleere 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: E O'Sullivan 1-2; D Drake 0-4; J Coughlan 0-3; D Brosnan, J Dineen, P Haughney 0-1 each.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up