Cork U21s scrape one-point win to get into final

Cork 1-10 Dublin 1-9

Cork 1-10 Dublin 1-9

Cork qualified for their third Cadbury's All-Ireland Under 21 football final in four years thanks to a slender one-point win at Semple Stadium this afternoon.

Backed by four of the Cork IT Sigerson Cup winning side, the Rebels withstood the loss of centre-half-forward Shane McCarthy through a red card late on, and a strong Dublin onslaught to book a place in the decider on May 4.

Dublin rued 17 wides including ten in the opening half as Cork led by 1-4 to 0-4 at the interval thanks to a 24th minute Colm O'Neill goal.

However Dublin were more composed in the opening stages and led by 0-2 to 0-1 after 13 minutes thanks to pointed frees from Dean Rock and Paddy O'Connor.

This composure resurface early in the second half as scores from Ted Furman and Dean Rock cut the gap to the minimum by the 33rd minute.

Cork broke two points in front thanks to scores from Ciaran Sheehan and David Goold but a 38th minute Barry O'Rorke goal levelled the tie at 1-6 each.

Dublin edged in front thanks to a Paddy Andrews point but Colm O'Neill spear-headed a Rebel comeback with his side kicking four points inside 12 minutes, to hold a three point lead with six minutes remaining.

The loss of O'Neill through injury and McCarthy's red card put the Rebels under pressure in the closing stages as Dublin edged within a point thanks to scores from substitutes Furman and David Quinn.

Dublin's search for an equaliser proved in vain as Cork held out at the finish to ensure a final spot.

Cork scorers: C O'Neill (2f) 1-4; C Sheehan (1f) 0-3; D Gould 0-2; M Collins 0-1.

Dublin scorers: D Rock (3f), T Furman 0-3 each; B O'Rorke 1-0; D Quinn, P Andrews, P O'Connor (1f) 0-1 each.

CORK: A Seymour; S McLoughlan, R Buckley, N Galvin; C O'Driscoll, A Walsh, B Daly; C O'Donovan, K O'Driscoll; C Sheehan, S McCarthy, C O'Driscoll; C O'Neill, D Goold, P Honohan.

Subs: M Collins for O'Driscoll (44); J Fitzpatrick for O'Neill (54).

DUBLIN: D McDonnell; C Moore, R O'Carroll, H Gill; J Cooper, C O'Sullivan, N Brogan; C Murphy, K Nolan; P O'Connor, L Sweetman, D Kelly; B O'Rorke, P Andrews, D Rock.

Subs: T Furman for O'Connor (25); N Devereux for Brogan (37); J Sheanon for Kelly (47); D Quinn for O'Rorke (51); N Coughlan for Rock (57).

Referee: Martin Higgins (Fermanagh)

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd