Armagh progress to first Ladies Football final

Armagh 1-13 Galway 1-12

Armagh 1-13 Galway 1-12

Armagh created history at Hyde Park as they won through to their first TG4 All-Ireland Ladies SFC final.

The Orchard women became the first side to win the junior championship and then qualify for the following year's senior final as Sharon Duncan stroked over a last-gasp free.

Galway, last year's beaten SFC finalists, led 1-8 to 1-6 at the break thanks to Lisa Cohill's 26th-minute goal and the point-taking of Gillian Joyce (0-5).

Maria O'Donnell's goal had sent Armagh into a 1-05 to 0-06 lead, and they bounced back with Aileen Matthews tallying up 0-6 before Duncan's late winner.

Armagh: F McAtamney; C Marley, F Quinn, A Murphy; R O'Mahony, B O'Donnell (capt), S McCleary; A O'Donnell, C O'Hanlon (0-1); M Tennyson (0-3), S Duncan (0-2 (0-1f)), S O'Hagan; M O'Donnell (1-0), P McAvoy (0-1), A Matthews (0-06 (0-4f)).

Subs used: for M McAlinden for McAvoy (45 mins), O Murphy for O'Hagan (58)

Galway: U Carroll; M O'Connell, M Glynn, AM McDonagh; C Cormican, A Daly, E Flaherty; A Clarke, P Gleeson (0-1); L Cohill (1-0), N Fahey, E Concannon; G Conneally, G Joyce (0-8 (0-6f)), L Joyce (capt) (0-2).

Subs used: N Duggan (0-1) for Conneally (28 mins), Conneally for Cohill (41), B Hannon for Conneally (50)

Referee: Peter Daly (Westmeath)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.