DCU, WIT head Datapac Hotshots list

The majority of winners of this year's Datapac Hotshots awards, an AllStars like scheme brought about to honour students who have excelled during the Higher Education GAA Championships, have come from champions DCU and Waterford IT.

The majority of winners of this year's Datapac Hotshots awards, an AllStars like scheme brought about to honour students who have excelled during the Higher Education GAA Championships, have come from champions DCU and Waterford IT.

In the third year of the third-level awards, Sigerson Cup winners DCU have topped the football selection with seven award-winners, while eight of Waterford IT's Fitzgibbon Cup-winning side have landed hurling honours.

DCU's winners include Dublin stars Stephen Cluxton, Paul Casey, Declan Lally and Bryan Cullen.

UCC, with Ronan Hussey (football) and John Tennyson (hurling), is the only college side to pick up awards in both codes. Kilkenny senior Tennyson has earned his own personal hat-trick as this is the third successive year that he been selected as a Hotshot.

Armagh's Brian Mallon of Queen's University, Belfast, is the only player to reappear in the Hotshots football team from last year.

The players will be presented with their Hotshots awards at a function at Croke Park prior to Friday's AIB All-Ireland club finals.


1. Philip Brennan (Waterford IT) (Tulla, Co Clare)

2. John Tennyson (UCC) (Carrickshock, Co Kilkenny)

3. Kevin Moran (Waterford IT) (De La Salle, Co Waterford)

4. Martin Ryan (NUI Galway) (Kilconieron, Co Galway)

5. Hugh Maloney (Waterford IT) (Éire Óg Nenagh, Co Tipperary)

6. Kevin Brady (Waterford IT) (Coolderry, Co Offaly)

7. Eamonn Ryan (UCD) (Moycarkey-Borris, Co Tipperary)

8. Tom Kenny (UCC) (Grenagh, Co Cork)

9. Michael Walsh (Waterford IT) (Stradbally, Co Waterford)

10. Eoin Reid (Waterford IT) (Ballyhale Shamrocks, Co Kilkenny)

11. Paul Horan (MICL) (Gortnahoe, Co Tipperary)

12. Andy Smith (UCD) (Portumna, Co Galway)

13. Rory Jacob (Waterford IT) (Oulart-the-Ballagh, Co Wexford)

14. Darragh Egan (NUI Galway) (Kildangan, Co Tipperary)

15. Willie Ryan (Waterford IT) (Toomevara, Co Tipperary)


1. Stephen Cluxton (DCU) (Parnells, Co Dublin)

2. Kevin Ward (TCD) (Dunshaughlin, Co Meath)

3. Peter Donnelly (UUJ) (Coalisland, Co Tyrone)

4. Paul Casey (DCU) (Lucan Sarsfields, Co Dublin)

5. Declan Lally (DCU) (St. Brigid’s Co Dublin)

6. Bryan Cullen (DCU) (Skerries Harps, Co Dublin)

7. Kevin Gunn (QUB) (Enniskillen Gaels, Co Fermanagh)

8. Owen Lennon (DCU) (Latton, Co Monaghan)

9. Peter Turley (QUB) (Saval, Co Down)

10. Ronan Flanagan (DCU) (Castlerahen, Co Cavan)

11. Brian Mallon (QUB) (Tír na nÓg, Co Armagh)

12. Michael McNamee (UUJ) (Crossmaglen, Co Armagh)

13. Ronan Hussey (UCC) (Sneem, Co Kerry)

14. Brian Kavanagh (St. Pat’s Drumcondra) (Ardagh St Patrick’s, Co Longford)

15. Seanie Johnston (DCU) (Cavan Gaels, Co Cavan).

More in this section

CourtsGaaHeathrowPlace: DublinPlace: Croke ParkPlace: TullaPlace: Co ClarePlace: Co WaterfordPlace: KilconieronPlace: Co GalwayPlace: Co TipperaryPlace: CoolderryPlace: Co OffalyPlace: GrenaghPlace: Co CorkPlace: Stradbally, Co WaterfordPlace: GortnahoePlace: PortumnaPlace: Oulart-the-BallaghPlace: Co WexfordPlace: GalwayPlace: KildanganPlace: ToomevaraPlace: ParnellsPlace: Co DublinPlace: DunshaughlinPlace: Co MeathPlace: CoalislandPlace: Co TyronePlace: Co FermanaghPlace: Co MonaghanPlace: SavalPlace: Co DownPlace: CastlerahenPlace: Co CavanPlace: na nÓgPlace: Co ArmaghPlace: CrossmaglenPlace: SneemPlace: Co KerryPlace: Ardagh StPlace: ’s,Place: Co LongfordPerson: Stephen CluxtonPerson: Paul CaseyPerson: Declan LallyPerson: Bryan CullenPerson: Ronan HusseyPerson: John TennysonPerson: TennysonPerson: Brian MallonPerson: Philip BrennanPerson: Kevin MoranPerson: Martin RyanPerson: Hugh MaloneyPerson: NenaghPerson: Kevin BradyPerson: Eamonn RyanPerson: Tom KennyPerson: Michael WalshPerson: Eoin ReidPerson: Paul HoranPerson: Andy SmithPerson: Rory JacobPerson: Darragh EganPerson: Willie RyanPerson: Kevin WardPerson: Peter DonnellyPerson: Kevin GunnPerson: Owen LennonPerson: Peter TurleyPerson: Ronan FlanaganPerson: Michael McNameePerson: Brian KavanaghPerson: Seanie JohnstonEvent: Higher Education GAA championshipsEvent: SigersonEvent: All-IrelandEvent: DATAPAC HURLINGOrganisation: DCUOrganisation: WITOrganisation: Datapac HotshotsOrganisation: Waterford ITOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: Queen's University, BelfastOrganisation: AIBOrganisation: De La SalleOrganisation: Éire ÓgOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: UCDOrganisation: Moycarkey-BorrisOrganisation: Ballyhale ShamrocksOrganisation: MICLOrganisation: NUIOrganisation: TCDOrganisation: UUJOrganisation: LucanOrganisation: St. BrigidOrganisation: CoOrganisation: SkerriesOrganisation: QUBOrganisation: Enniskillen GaelsOrganisation: St. Pat’s DrumcondraOrganisation: Gaels
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.211 s