O'Hora off as Mayo let Galway back in



GALWAY 1-10 MAYO 1-10

2002 captain Diane O’Hora saw red in the second TG4 All-Ireland semi-final, as champions Mayo were forced to battle back in the final seconds against Connacht winners Galway for a 1-10 to 1-10 draw.

Niamh Fahey's 57th minute goal for the Tribeswomen sparked mayhem amongst 14-women Mayo, levelling the game at 1-9 apiece.

Seconds later, Corofin corner forward Patricia Gleeson put Galway in prime position for a surprise win, leading for just the second time, but four-time All-Ireland medal winner Cora Staunton held her nerve at the death to see the sides meet again at the same venue, next Saturday.

Kilannin half-forward Fahey earned a 57th minute close-in free, and showed a quick wit to edge her 20-metre shot inside Linda Connolly’s right post.

Mayo, gunning for a fifth Brendan Martin Cup in six years, opened the better and despite losing attackers Ciara McDermott and Fiona McHale to yellow cards, led 1-6 to 0-3 at half time.

22-year-old Staunton was once more the stand-out forward, using her strength to brush off Aine Gilmore’s challenge and fire a high shot to the Mayo net on 3 minutes.

Galway kept in touch with three frees from Niamh Duggan (0-2) and Fahey, but their challenge looked doomed when midfielder Lisa Cohill was sin-binned early in the second half.

On 40 minutes, Galway substitute Anne-Marie McDonagh notched her side's first score from play for 0-5 to 1-8. Despite seeing O'Hora sent off by Dublin official Tony Clarke five minutes later, for a high elbow barge on Marie O'Connell, Staunton rallied Mayo back to 1-9 to 0-6 in front.

Back came Galway, deservedly earning another shot at their first All-Ireland final appearance since 1975, as Duggan, Fahey and Gleeson saw them to a barnstorming finish.

Staunton's late free, with a minute-and-ten seconds remaining, sees Dublin still awaiting their final opponents.

Galway: U Carroll; M O’Connell, R Stevens, M Burke; F Wynne, A Gilmore, E Flaherty; L Cohill, A Clarke; G Joyce, N Fahey, G Conneally; P Gleeson, N Duggan, L Joyce.

Subs used: AM McDonagh for Conneally (28 mins), E O’Malley for Wynne (40), E Concannon for O’Connell (48), M Delaney for G Joyce (55)

Mayo: L Connolly; N O’Shea, H Lohan, MT Garvey; C O’Hara, Y Byrne, E Biggins; C Egan, C Heffernan; K Colleran, D O Hora, F McHale; C McDermott, M Heffernan, C Staunton.

Subs used: J Moran for C Heffernan (46 mins), T McNicholas for Colleran (49)

Half time: Galway 0-3 Mayo 1-6

Referee: T Clarke (Dublin)

Scorers: Galway: N Duggan 0-5 (5f), N Fahey 1-2 (1-1f), AM McDonagh, G Joyce, P Gleeson 0-1 each

Mayo: C Staunton 1-8 (5f), D O Hora (1f), C Heffernan 0-1 each

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.