Comprehensive win for the Decies

Waterford 2-26 Kerry 1-12

Waterford 2-26 Kerry 1-12

Two goals from Paul Flynn set up Waterford for a comprehensive 17-point victory in the opening defence of their Munster Senior Hurling Championship title when they outclassed Kerry at Walsh Park.

The winners led by 1-16 to 1-2 at half-time after a succession of points from Ken McGrath, Dave Bennett, Paul Flynn, Andy Moloney and Tony Brown.

Kerry's opening half goal came from John Mike Dooley in the 25th minute and it left them trailing by 1-12 to 1-1.

Unanswered points for Kerry from Pat O'Connell, Shane and Billy Brick saw Kerry trail by 11 points 10 minutes into the second half but it was as close as they came.

The Waterford reply was swift and decisive with Dave Bennett rifling over points from both play and frees to set up his side for a semi-final meeting with Limerick on June 1.

Waterford : Stephen Brenner, Brian Green, Tom Feeney, Brian Flannery, Declan Prendergast, Fergal Hartley, James Murray, Tony Brown, Peter Queally, Dave Bennett, Ken McGrath, Eoin Kelly, Andy Moloney, Paul Flynn, Seamus Prendergast.

Subs: Eoin McGrath for Brian Green, Alan Kirwan for Brian Flannery, Dan Shanahan for Andy Moloney, Michael Walsh for Tony Brown.

Kerry: John Healy, Hugh Francis Twomey, Michael Lucid, Ian Brick, Willy Joe Leen, James McCarthy, Kieran O'Sullivan, Conor Flaherty, Aidan Cronin, Michael Slattery, Billy Brick, Pat O'Connell, Shane Brick, Gary O'Brien, John Mike Dooley,

Subs, Pat Cronin for Willy Joe Leen, Liam Boyle for Kieran O'Sullivan, Colin Harris for James McCarthy, Michael Conway for Pat O'Connell, Maurice Murnane for Gary O'Brien.

Ref Pat Ahern (Carlow).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up